CGTalk > Software > Photoshop / Painter
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2002, 06:23 PM   #1
Mr. Jones
New Member
 
Mr. Jones's Avatar
Student
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 18
Photoshop won't open!!!

I have recently been experiencing problems with opening photoshop on my computer. Every time I click to open the program the window opens and the splash screen comes up saying intializing and then the program closes. Now this has been puzzling me because I installed photoshop 7 upgrade a few months ago with no problem until now. Also haven't downloaded any programs that would interfere with the operation of the program since then. I've also have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the program but I still get the same results. If you can help in any way it would be greatly appreciated.

I'm also running on XP Professional.
 
Old 11-30-2002, 10:03 PM   #2
Siborg
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
It sounds like you could be running out of available memory.

How many programs run in the background or foreground, while PS is launching?

Another possibility is that you have too many fonts. Each font has to be loaded into memory, the same memory which PS uses to run as well. The more fonts you have, the slower PS will run, if at all.
 
Old 11-30-2002, 10:12 PM   #3
Mr. Jones
New Member
 
Mr. Jones's Avatar
Student
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 18
Thanks for the reply Siborg but I don't believe it is a memory problem. I don't have any programs running when PS is being launched and it only seems to be with PS and not the other adobe programs that I use. Also I only have the standard fonts that came with the software so I don't believe it is a problems with loading fonts.
 
Old 12-01-2002, 03:36 AM   #4
eliseu gouveia
Engine of Creation
 
eliseu gouveia's Avatar
Eliseu Gouveia
Comicbook Artist
Portugal
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,339
It´s probably unrelated, but I noticed that my Windows starts giving me a hard time when I surpass my hardrives´ 50% storage capability.

At 70-80% of storage capability, all my apps starts misbehaving for reasons unknown.
__________________
My Deviations
 
Old 12-01-2002, 11:40 AM   #5
Siborg
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Maybe the scratch disk you are using (The hard drive space that PS uses for extra memory) is running out of space then.

Go to Edit>Preferences>Plug-Ins & Scratch Disks

Make sure the drive that is selected has enough space on, or lower the scratch disk size to help compensate etc.

Aside from this, I would try contacting Adobe over this issue, and see if they can help you.
 
Old 12-01-2002, 12:10 PM   #6
ambient-whisper
Gone travelling :D
 
ambient-whisper's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Martin Krol
Pixomondo
Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4,630

and if not. then its a virus. ive had a virus once that didnt allow me to open 1/2 my apps. and i got 768 ram, and had over 20 gigs left of space ( i set PS to use that partition. ) so it obviousely wasnt the problem.

once the virus was killed everything went back to normal.
 
Old 12-01-2002, 10:12 PM   #7
Mr. Jones
New Member
 
Mr. Jones's Avatar
Student
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 18
Thanks everybody for your help, but I was able to solve the problem by myself. I guess the day when PS stopped working was because my computer created a system restore point when something happened such as a power failure or something of that nature. Since XP Professional creates a new restore point for my system everyday, all I needed to do was restore my computer back to a date when PS was working right.
 
Old 12-02-2002, 12:51 AM   #8
dpvtank
Member
 
dpvtank's Avatar
D Tank
Student
Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 340
u didnt really need to do that...
and to tell u the truth, system restore uses waaaaaaaaaay tooooo many resources and hardisk space..

this has actually happened to me before..
the answer was a simple reboot.
 
Old 12-10-2002, 05:53 PM   #9
KINGOFPAIN
[BlackGravity]
 
KINGOFPAIN's Avatar
portfolio
BlackGravity
student
BlackgravityGraphics
Portland, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 432
Send a message via MSN to KINGOFPAIN Send a message via Yahoo to KINGOFPAIN
...or a reinstall
 
Old 01-14-2006, 12:00 AM   #10
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.