CGTalk > Main Forums > News
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2006, 03:04 PM   #1
RobertoOrtiz
[Forum Leader]
 
RobertoOrtiz's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Roberto Ortiz
Illustrator/ Modeler
Washington DC, USA
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 31,806
Send a message via MSN to RobertoOrtiz
New Technology Boosts Hard Drive Capacity

Quote:
"The new approach that aligns bits of data vertically rather than horizontally enables Seagate and other drive vendors to further boost the density of drives without increasing the risk of scrambling data.
Since the first hard drive was introduced 1956, bits have been arranged in a flat, horizontal fashion on the spinning platters. To boost capacity, engineers reduced the size of the particles whose magnetic state is what actually remembers data."

>>LINK<<

-R
__________________
LW FREE MODELS:FOR REAL Home Anatomy Thread
FXWARS
:Daily Sketch Forum:HCR Modeling
This message does not reflect the opinions of the US Government

 
Old 01-17-2006, 03:12 PM   #2
kees
www.lumonix.net
 
kees's Avatar
portfolio
Kees Rijnen
Software Developer
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,023
It has even been made into a song a good while ago:

http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/resea...rAnimation.html


-Kees
 
Old 01-17-2006, 03:37 PM   #3
Dennik
Stuck in the 80s
 
Dennik's Avatar
portfolio
Dionysios N
3D Artist - Animator
Winston Salem, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,168
Wow, it took them only 30 years to think of that one.
__________________
Dennik

Animusing Productions
old animation stuff.



 
Old 01-17-2006, 04:24 PM   #4
slaughters
Put the Doo in Doofuss !
 
slaughters's Avatar
portfolio
Stan Slaughter
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennik
Wow, it took them only 30 years to think of that one.
I expect it was thought up long ago . It just took this long for the tech to advance enough to make it economically feasible.

P.S. Nice song kees - After watching it I now know that it was Disco dancing which made it all possible
__________________
Stan Slaughter
http://www.stansight.com/
We have enough youth, how about a Fountain of Smart?

 
Old 01-17-2006, 05:37 PM   #5
Enlighter
Work In Progress
 
Enlighter's Avatar
Ben
Arctic-Systems.com
Marion, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 116
Send a message via ICQ to Enlighter Send a message via AIM to Enlighter Send a message via MSN to Enlighter Send a message via Yahoo to Enlighter
Do we really need hard drives bigger then 500gb though? I have two 250gb's and thats plenty. Unless your running a server whats the point of much more?
__________________
"Every Child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once one grows up"

-Pablo Picasso
 
Old 01-17-2006, 05:42 PM   #6
enygma
Can you trust this face?
 
enygma's Avatar
portfolio
Chris Heier
President
Tycrid Platform Technologies Inc.
Calgary, Canada
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,224
Send a message via AIM to enygma Send a message via MSN to enygma
I have 2 500GB drives in my system. Personally, if I could get 2 1TB drives, it would be nice to run them in a failsafe (RAID 1) mode. I would like to maintain my 1TB of personal storage, yet have added failsafe to help protect from disk failure.

At the moment, I can only fit 2 drives in my system, otherwise, I'm looking at a Firewire 800 solution, like an external LaCie drive of some sort.
__________________
Chris Heier
President

Tycrid Platform Technologies Inc.
 
Old 01-17-2006, 05:56 PM   #7
pgp_protector
Lord of the posts
 
pgp_protector's Avatar
portfolio
Robert H.
IT Manager
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,215
Send a message via Yahoo to pgp_protector
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enlighter
Do we really need hard drives bigger then 500gb though? I have two 250gb's and thats plenty. Unless your running a server whats the point of much more?


Some do, but what about using the new teck to allow your Laptop HD to hit 160G ?

http://www.behardware.com/news/7618...tus-5400-3.html

With the new teck, that's what there doing now.
__________________
Get PGP & Protect your privacy
 
Old 01-17-2006, 06:29 PM   #8
charleyc
Will never know-it-all
portfolio
Charley Carlat
3d Artist
Encore Hollywood
LA, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,387
Send a message via MSN to charleyc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enlighter
Do we really need hard drives bigger then 500gb though? I have two 250gb's and thats plenty. Unless your running a server whats the point of much more?


As HD takes off, anyone doing video editing or animation can eat through 500 GB in no time. The more hard drives, the more heat. More data in less space is always better

Kees- that song is hilarious.
__________________
Proverbs 17:28 - Even a fool is counted wise when he holds his peace; When he shuts his lips, he is considered perceptive.
 
Old 01-17-2006, 07:54 PM   #9
chrisWhite
Lord of the posts
 
chrisWhite's Avatar
portfolio
Chris White
Littleton, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to chrisWhite
I do DV editing at work and I have access to two 400GB hard drives and I'm still constenly deleting files to get just a little more video in there, and this is over just one project (though a large one). I will gladly take any advancements in hard-drives the industry can pull off.
__________________
Chris White
 
Old 01-17-2006, 11:14 PM   #10
franciscohs
New Member
portfolio
Francisco HS
Argentina
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via ICQ to franciscohs Send a message via MSN to franciscohs Send a message via Yahoo to franciscohs
Quote:
Originally Posted by enygma
I have 2 500GB drives in my system. Personally, if I could get 2 1TB drives, it would be nice to run them in a failsafe (RAID 1) mode. I would like to maintain my 1TB of personal storage, yet have added failsafe to help protect from disk failure.

At the moment, I can only fit 2 drives in my system, otherwise, I'm looking at a Firewire 800 solution, like an external LaCie drive of some sort.


You don't need to wait for 1TB drives for that, just buy another 500Gb disk and use RAID 5, probably cheaper and you can have it now.
 
Old 01-17-2006, 11:14 PM   #11
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.