CGTalk > Main > General Discussion
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Old 12-16-2005, 11:12 PM   #1
Can anyone help me create?

Hi everyone, I seem to be having a problem advancing in 3ds max. I'm currently 17 years old, and interested in 3d. I've done multiple tutorials (and when I say multiple I mean A LOT) but I don't seem to be advancing my skill. I have practiced well over a year now and I can honestly say I'm not any good. I have these amazing images of enviroments and characters in my head that I really want to make in 3DS Max. But I can't. How can I? Like I said before I'm not getting any better and its really frustrating. Where can I go to learn to create? I'm not a total noob but I can't model anything good either. The hardest thing I can semi-successfuly model right now is a simple desk lamp. Creative huh? If anyone can help me out I'd really appreciate it! Please.. I plan on making this my career so I fear if I don't ever get any good, I'll never have a job!
Old 12-16-2005, 11:24 PM   #2
Trogdor the burninator
NL Bradbury
Midvale, USA
Well, first of all, no one can help you create. Creating is a personal thing. The best we can do is critique and offer advice. Maybe your stuff isn't as bad as you think. You are your own worst critic you know.

Second, you're only 17. I have shirts that old. You haven't given yourself time to develop any skills you may have. Some people get it right away, and some don't. A year isn't that long for those who need time to grasp it.

Third, most of us who consider ourselves "artists" have been drawing/painting/sculpting/whatever since our earliest memories. Before we could walk or talk we were holding a pencil. Maybe you just got a late start.

Give it time, and practice practice practice practice practice practice practice practice practice practice practice practice.
Old 12-16-2005, 11:49 PM   #3
Lord of the posts
hh hh
San Marino
Send a message via MSN to FrozZT