CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2005, 10:00 PM   #1
xeno3d
Lord of the posts
 
xeno3d's Avatar
portfolio
Kevin Olson
Plymouth, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 500
finalRender 2 motion blur

I can't seem to get motion blur to work in fr2, even with the preset scenes. I checked all the settings but no go, any ideas?
 
Old 11-17-2005, 10:07 PM   #2
Per-Anders
helper bunny
 
Per-Anders's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Per-Anders Edwards
Developer
The Third Party
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 12,724
it's odd that your preview scenes don't work, maybe the install didn't work correctly?

it's really just a case of adding a moblur tag and then enabling moblur in fr itself (just use the default settings, you don't need to use the prepass system which is more complex).

make sure you have a motion blur tag applied to your objects, enable motion blur in the camera settings of final render itself, and that's about it. you cna also add an fr object tag to teh oebjcts in question and enable motion blur there too.
__________________
The Third Party | Homepage | My Reel
"You need to know what you're doing before you start, and to start because you need what you're doing."
 
Old 11-17-2005, 11:39 PM   #3
AdamT
oh ... what?
 
AdamT's Avatar
Adam Trachtenberg
Modeler, Animator, Attorney
3D Anvil
Miami, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,518
Hi Xeno3D,

I just noticed that motion blur only shows up in the Picture Viewer--not the editor. Did you try that?

Also note that you have to use the fR object tag rather than Cinema's motion blur tag. That isn't quite clear in the tutorial unless you look at the pictures.
 
Old 11-18-2005, 10:56 AM   #4
lllab
VRAYforC4D
 
lllab's Avatar
stefan Laub
VRAYforC4D_architect
vrayforc4d.com
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,793
the propeller scene didnt work here either, i am quite sure that i did exactly as discribed,but not 100% sure...

cheers
stefan
 
Old 11-18-2005, 12:51 PM   #5
dann_stubbs
insert witty tag here
 
dann_stubbs's Avatar
Dann Stubbs
Systems Admin - ex 3D guy
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by lllab
the propeller scene didnt work here either, i am quite sure that i did exactly as discribed,but not 100% sure...

cheers
stefan


the cebas forum has the answer to this here

http://www.cebas.com/forums/cebas/viewtopic.php?t=3223

dann
__________________
-
Dann Stubbs - dann@darkskydigital.com
http://www.RenderKing.com Value Priced C4D, VRAY Render Farm
-
 
Old 11-18-2005, 04:19 PM   #6
lllab
VRAYforC4D
 
lllab's Avatar
stefan Laub
VRAYforC4D_architect
vrayforc4d.com
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,793
thanks Dann!

is it already running on your farm?

cheers
stefan
 
Old 11-18-2005, 04:29 PM   #7
dann_stubbs
insert witty tag here
 
dann_stubbs's Avatar
Dann Stubbs
Systems Admin - ex 3D guy
USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by lllab
thanks Dann!

is it already running on your farm?


i JUST got my osx order swapped to PC so i can get it installed on the PC renderfarm - i won't be able to do anything other then render but i guess by this evening i'll have it running DR on 10 X2's - and if it can handle it ok then i'll add another license for 20 X2's for DR. (will see how the gig ethernet handles it before i go too far with DR as it can start to become a worse performance if too much traffic) but DR should yield pretty good results with the X2's i would think. i'll be emailing you later asking for a scene i can test it with ; ) (since i have no way to create FR2 scenes until osx version ships)

also i am starting to ask for requests for users who may want to use FR2 with NET for rendering animations with it (using NET interface to render much less network traffic that way since it does full frame only) but will cost $5000 to add to my small farm so i want to make sure SOMEBODY will want to use it first : )

dann
__________________
-
Dann Stubbs - dann@darkskydigital.com
http://www.RenderKing.com Value Priced C4D, VRAY Render Farm
-
 
Old 11-18-2005, 05:12 PM   #8
Daoine
procrastinator
 
Daoine's Avatar
Kevin Barnum
Freelancer
C-Time Studio
Rochester, NY, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 293
Hell yeah Dan. That would be cool. When you first mentioned using FR for stills at RK, I thought it would be even better to offer animation rendering w/ FR (w/ the whole GI animation time build up w/ AR and all). Of course, my excitement will be much delayed if I would first NEED FR to make my scenes compatible for rendering... Cuz I don't have FR... yet?

Sounds cool though,
Daoine
 
Old 11-19-2005, 12:49 AM   #9
bobtronic
aka bobtronic
 
bobtronic's Avatar
portfolio
Matthias Bober
3D monkey
Frankfurt, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,805
How does fr motionblur compare to Cinema's? Is it fast and accurate (with shadows) ?
I usally use Cinema's scene MB but this adds alot of rendertime.

Bob
__________________
http://www.bobtronic.com
 
Old 11-19-2005, 01:03 AM   #10
Per-Anders
helper bunny
 
Per-Anders's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Per-Anders Edwards
Developer
The Third Party
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 12,724
the motion blur in fr is great. it's much faster than c4d's scene motion blur (not much slower than vmb) and gives much smoother/better/more accurate results.
__________________
The Third Party | Homepage | My Reel
"You need to know what you're doing before you start, and to start because you need what you're doing."
 
Old 11-19-2005, 01:19 AM   #11
bobtronic
aka bobtronic
 
bobtronic's Avatar
portfolio
Matthias Bober
3D monkey
Frankfurt, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,805
thanks Per. any chance of an example anim with motionblur?

cheers,
Bob
__________________
http://www.bobtronic.com
 
Old 11-19-2005, 01:19 AM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.