CGTalk > Techniques > Character Rigging
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2002, 08:51 PM   #1
Jagger
Veteran
 
Jagger's Avatar
wana be character rigger
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 35
unable to paint weights?

Hi, this is my first post on the forum and from what ive read im sure one of u all might riggers can help a student like me out.

Im curently trying to paint weights on a nurb model done with trim and filets(no a patch model), but theres a problem. I can paint the mesh but i cant see where im painting. Theres parts of the model that show what i have painted and what i havent, but over all most of the weight on the models mesh is not displayed.

Im using maya 4 compleat, and for the life of me i dont know whats wrong. Ive tried all i could think of and nothing has worked, any one out there have any ideas?

Any help would greatly be appreciated.
 
Old 11-19-2002, 09:03 PM   #2
Ckerr812
Evil Monkey in the Closet
 
Ckerr812's Avatar
Senior Animator/TD
Canada
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,010
When binding nurbs, and/or direct Sub Dee's use rigid bind.

When binding Poly's, use smooth bind.
__________________
*Insert pretentious quote here*
 
Old 11-20-2002, 07:15 PM   #3
beaker
Meep!
 
beaker's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Deke Kincaid
VR Pipeline Supervisor
DD
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,540
Send a message via ICQ to beaker Send a message via AIM to beaker Send a message via MSN to beaker Send a message via Yahoo to beaker
You should try recreating the model without trims. Especially if it is a character. Trims still have the data that you cut out, it is just hidden(just look at the cv's of the object and you will see the ones for the hidden part of the surface too). So this wreaks havoc with the painting weights.
__________________
-deke
 
Old 11-20-2002, 10:42 PM   #4
Jagger
Veteran
 
Jagger's Avatar
wana be character rigger
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 35
thanx

Thanx guys

I took a look at the CVs and now i understand some what, whats wrong, and why is should be using rigid bind ... ohh well lifes a learning experience.
 
Old 01-13-2006, 08:00 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.