CGTalk > Software > Photoshop / Painter
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2002, 11:42 PM   #1
Eudaimic
Atheist
 
Eudaimic's Avatar
Michael Heilemann
Level Designer
IO Interactive
KÝbenhavn K, Denmark
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 477
Send a message via ICQ to Eudaimic Send a message via AIM to Eudaimic Send a message via MSN to Eudaimic Send a message via Yahoo to Eudaimic
Shortcut Keys for Airbrush in PS7

Hey,

It's been a while since I ported to PS7, but I have yet to figure out what the shortcut key for airbrush is :( In 6 it used to be J, but now it's been conbined with the brush tool, and I can't seem to find any shortcut for it :(

Any ideas?
__________________
Regards Michael Heilemann
 
Old 11-19-2002, 08:34 AM   #2
Eudaimic
Atheist
 
Eudaimic's Avatar
Michael Heilemann
Level Designer
IO Interactive
KÝbenhavn K, Denmark
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 477
Send a message via ICQ to Eudaimic Send a message via AIM to Eudaimic Send a message via MSN to Eudaimic Send a message via Yahoo to Eudaimic
No one?
__________________
Regards Michael Heilemann
 
Old 11-19-2002, 09:31 AM   #3
Iain McFadzen
Krasavchik
 
Iain McFadzen's Avatar
.
Artist
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,080
There isn't one.

Don't get me started...
 
Old 11-19-2002, 07:04 PM   #4
frog
frog
 
frog's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Yot
illustrator
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 771
Easiest way round this is to create a preset airbrush that you like and then use an action to call it up with a key.

I have several brush presets that I call up in this manner, and you can even link the action keypress to your Wacom's pop up menu and call up your presets with your stylus.
 
Old 11-20-2002, 09:54 PM   #5
Eudaimic
Atheist
 
Eudaimic's Avatar
Michael Heilemann
Level Designer
IO Interactive
KÝbenhavn K, Denmark
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 477
Send a message via ICQ to Eudaimic Send a message via AIM to Eudaimic Send a message via MSN to Eudaimic Send a message via Yahoo to Eudaimic
Quote:
Originally posted by Iain McFadzen
There isn't one.

Don't get me started...


That's great... Just like they decided to change TGA's to not having alpha channels because it was for 'the greater good' (Yeah I know they changed it back in the patch, but I can't apply the patch to my version :()

I guess I could do a lot of presets, but it's just a really big hazzle.
__________________
Regards Michael Heilemann
 
Old 11-21-2002, 02:23 PM   #6
Iain McFadzen
Krasavchik
 
Iain McFadzen's Avatar
.
Artist
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,080
Just so you know, you can copy the TGA plugin from PS5.5 and replace the one in PS7 if you have both versions installed.
 
Old 11-21-2002, 05:38 PM   #7
Eudaimic
Atheist
 
Eudaimic's Avatar
Michael Heilemann
Level Designer
IO Interactive
KÝbenhavn K, Denmark
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 477
Send a message via ICQ to Eudaimic Send a message via AIM to Eudaimic Send a message via MSN to Eudaimic Send a message via Yahoo to Eudaimic
Ohooo. I don't have it though :(

There wouldn't happen to be some generous soul somewhere around here?
__________________
Regards Michael Heilemann
 
Old 11-22-2002, 01:29 PM   #8
frog
frog
 
frog's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Yot
illustrator
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 771
To be fair, creating one preset to call up an airbrush with a keypress is hardly a big hassle
 
Old 11-22-2002, 02:50 PM   #9
Eudaimic
Atheist
 
Eudaimic's Avatar
Michael Heilemann
Level Designer
IO Interactive
KÝbenhavn K, Denmark
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 477
Send a message via ICQ to Eudaimic Send a message via AIM to Eudaimic Send a message via MSN to Eudaimic Send a message via Yahoo to Eudaimic
Well, I have a range of brushes (set sizes and edge hardness) that I always use, that way I can browse through them using , and . (on a Danish keyboard layout anyway). But if I have to edit each one to be an airbrush, that'll take me a little while and be a hazzle... unless of course I'm missing something?
__________________
Regards Michael Heilemann
 
Old 11-22-2002, 04:34 PM   #10
frog
frog
 
frog's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Yot
illustrator
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 771
Well, these brushes: are they set sizes and edge hardness you created yourself? If so you can import them or recreate them and save them in your brush presets and still navigate them with your "," & "." keys (just remember to set them as airbrushes).

The default palette has a number of airbrush presets you can navigate with the same keys. Very similar to using the airbrush and those keys in earlier versions, if you were using default brushes.

Alternatively, if the size is the only parameter you need to change you can set your brush up and use the "[" & "]" keys to change the size up and down, all your other settings will remain as they were.

Edit: You can also change the hardness to harder or softer by using Shift + "[" & "]".

Last edited by frog : 11-22-2002 at 10:46 PM.
 
Old 11-22-2002, 04:53 PM   #11
Iain McFadzen
Krasavchik
 
Iain McFadzen's Avatar
.
Artist
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,080
Frog is a "glass is half full" type of a guy, thank God there are people like him the world or "half empty" guys like me would just have to run around shouting at each other
 
Old 11-22-2002, 10:40 PM   #12
frog
frog
 
frog's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Yot
illustrator
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 771
Hehe, I'm one of those that likes the new toys and is more than happy to drop the old ones in flash...

My glass is actually very full as I'm off to spend a month in Australia and leave the English winter far behind me, I'll see you back here next year and we can continue our ongoing discussion on the merits and drawbacks of Photoshop 7 right up until Photoshop 8 comes out

Happy New year!!!!
 
Old 11-22-2002, 10:43 PM   #13
Eudaimic
Atheist
 
Eudaimic's Avatar
Michael Heilemann
Level Designer
IO Interactive
KÝbenhavn K, Denmark
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 477
Send a message via ICQ to Eudaimic Send a message via AIM to Eudaimic Send a message via MSN to Eudaimic Send a message via Yahoo to Eudaimic
Ah, cool!

Well have a good time down on the other side. Meanwhile I'll freeze my ass off here in Scotland until mid December when I fly back to Denmark and freeze my ass off there over winter
__________________
Regards Michael Heilemann
 
Old 11-28-2002, 12:32 AM   #14
Gentle Fury
Fix it in post...
 
Gentle Fury's Avatar
Fix it in post.
Compositor|Editor
Lone Wanderer
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,612
ummmmmmmm

interesting discussion......why not just press B?????
 
Old 11-28-2002, 12:39 AM   #15
vertigo
trying to be creative :-)
 
vertigo's Avatar
portfolio
Emil Stefanov
visual effects
scanline VFX
Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 102
Hi!

To cut a long story short: The shortcut for the Brushtool is in PS7 the B! So, you click on the Brush icon on the top palette and then it is saved! Every time you press B the Brushtool is activated together with the pressed Brush preference!

Have fun!

Greets

vertigo
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.