Open Source Plugin Projects

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

09 September 2005
Lightbulb Open Source Plugin Projects

Here's a little thought for all the coders who frequent this forum, and that's been bubbling around at the back of my mind for a little while.

With Cinema there are a number of plugins that should be there, but simply aren't, because maybe they're things that you can't sell, or would take too much effort to make for free (but wouldn't sell enough to make it worthwhile if they weren't free) etc, but would still be incredibly useful to have.

So, why don't we opensource them and run the project via this board?

Here are two prospective opensource plugin project suggestions:

1) MA (Maya Ascii) Import/Export
2) Integrated web browser (e.g. taking mozilla and trying to integrate that).

Last edited by mdme_sadie : 09 September 2005 at 08:55 PM.

09 September 2005
i am no coder. but i think that this is a brilliant idea!

cheers
marcom

09 September 2005
No code here--but this would be great! A browser ala XSI would work well with the reference image manager idea I had posted a few weeks ago.

09 September 2005
Coder here.

Definitely an excellent idea there.

What would be the criteria? Open to XPresso, COFFEE, and C++ or just stick to C++? Windows only or cross-platform? I, of course, opt for the latter. Is this going to be done under a GPL, from SourceForge (for version tracking, etc.)? Just throwing out some queries to get an idea of what your conception is and get you thinking.

Not that I could participate any time soon. My current plugin project basically precludes any form of extra-curricular activity. When I'm not developing, I'm sleeping, eating, or taking care of all other mundane tasks.

C4D-R16, VS2012, Xcode 4.6

09 September 2005