CGTalk > Software > Compositing Software > Autodesk Effects and Compositing
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2002, 07:48 PM   #1
boomji
Expert
 
boomji's Avatar
education
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 770
hinging hell and then some more

hey dudes,
some quickies
is there a fix or an update on combustion which fixes the problem of the layer scaling up a bit when i hinge layers together ???.
and another problem... for eg i have made a 3d composite and put together a dice(die) consisting off 6 sides.camera move is pretty simple...starts frontal and ends anal ...no seriously, at an topish angle.i get the typical roping along horizontal lines.
i have enabled supersampling.do i have any other options to stop this...is blurring the only way to go.i will post an image later.
besides does cs have any known problems with intersecting layers like afx.
i had rotated all the layers and positioned them and i decided to parent them to a null(to controll the dice)...some layers just flipped
sorry to bugger you guys so much but i'm from the afx camp and now i have to get with cs in 2-3 days.
tahnx anyways.
b
 
Old 11-10-2002, 08:45 PM   #2
Chris
Chief time waster
 
Chris's Avatar
portfolio
Chris Williamson
3D / Motion Graphics Artist
Weta Workshop
Wellington, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,412
have a look at changing the layers you are hinging to square pixels to avoid that stretching problem when hinging them.

Re staircasing, are you rendering at best quality?
__________________
--------------------------------
animationsbychris.com
 
Old 11-11-2002, 07:07 PM   #3
boomji
Expert
 
boomji's Avatar
education
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 770
hey thanks

hey chris dude

thanks.u've helped out qiute a bit in max too .
Combustion aspects every thing you import into an aspected comp...sheeeeeeh :annoyed:
there was nuthin in the prefrences as well to stop this from happenning.The roping was happenning because the layers were close to each other...so i just cheated(ha!!!) and put the layers a wee bit away from each other.Still i wish they had more tools and sampling algos.
funny i cant do depth of field in camera...what with the aperture and focal distance settings i would think it was meant to do such stuff .
thanx again.
b
 
Old 05-29-2003, 03:28 PM   #4
rlph.
le tired
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 127
"funny i cant do depth of field in camera...what with the aperture and focal distance settings i would think it was meant to do such stuff "

Hey, I was trying to do the depth of field effect with some simple text operators using the camera's aperture and focal distance settings but it didn't work at all. SO, is that even possible in combustion 2.1? I have been using After Effects and I cant find any similar DOF options in Combustion camera... F1 didn't help either. What am I missing here?
 
Old 05-29-2003, 09:22 PM   #5
Chris
Chief time waster
 
Chris's Avatar
portfolio
Chris Williamson
3D / Motion Graphics Artist
Weta Workshop
Wellington, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,412
nuthin'... (as in, your missing nothing, theres nothing there ), the DOF filter in Combustion only works on objects with embedded Z-Depth channels & there ain't no automatic scene depth of field... Hopefully something to look out for in Combustion 3
__________________
--------------------------------
animationsbychris.com
 
Old 05-30-2003, 02:08 PM   #6
leova
New Member
leova
vfx supervisor
Canada
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 19
Lightbulb

I think there is no DOP for layers.
BUT you always can animate BLUR...
 
Old 05-30-2003, 02:14 PM   #7
leova
New Member
leova
vfx supervisor
Canada
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 19
Lightbulb

I think there is no DOP for layers.
BUT you always can animate BLUR...
 
Old 05-31-2003, 07:28 AM   #8
rlph.
le tired
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 127
Thanks for clearing that out Chris and Leova
 
Old 01-13-2006, 10:00 PM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.