mel and hell rhyme

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 09 September 2005   #1
mel and hell rhyme

this is the script i am working on

i have no experience with mel but i am getting a syntax error, does anyone know what the problem is??
using maya 7

if (the_shaker.wander_intensity == 0)

the_shaker.translateX = ( gauss ( ( rand ( 0 , ( the_shaker.shake_intensity * ( the_shaker.shake_xtrans_master * 0.1 ) )))) ) + ( ( ( noise ((time-50) * the_shaker.destabilise_xtrans_scale)) * (the_shaker.destabilise_intensity/2) ) ) + ( rand ( the_shaker.jitter_intensity * ( the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master/10 ) , ( the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master/10 )) ) );

else

the_shaker.translateX = ( gauss ( ( rand ( 0 , ( the_shaker.shake_intensity * ( the_shaker.shake_xtrans_master * 0.1 ) )))) ) + ( ( ( noise ((time-50) * the_shaker.destabilise_xtrans_scale)) * (the_shaker.destabilise_intensity/2) ) ) + ( rand ( the_shaker.jitter_intensity * ( the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master/10 ) , ( the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master/10 )) ) ) + the_shaker.translateX + (( rand ( - (the_shaker.wander_intensity * (the_shaker.wander_xtrans_master/5)) , (the_shaker.wander_intensity * (the_shaker.wander_xtrans_master/5) ) )))

Old 09 September 2005   #2
Well for a start, you cant access the the_shaker attributes in the way you do.
Instead you should use:

if (`getAttr the_shaker.wander_intensity` == 0)
{
setAttr "the_shaker.translateX" ( gauss ( ( rand ( 0 , ( `getAttr the_shaker.shake_intensity` * ( `getAttr the_shaker.shake_xtrans_master` * 0.1 ) )))) ) + ( ( ( noise ((time-50) * `getAttr the_shaker.destabilise_xtrans_scale`)) * (`getAttr the_shaker.destabilise_intensity`/2) ) ) + ( rand ( `getAttr the_shaker.jitter_intensity` * ( `getAttr the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master`/10 ) , ( `getAttr the_shaker.jitter_xtrans_master`/10 )) ) );
}

I believe you can figure out the rest.