CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > 3dsMax Resources
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2005, 01:41 PM   #1
Rettie
New Member
Nikola Avramov
Belgrade, Yugoslavia
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Creating a displace map

Hi!

I'm trying to create a detailed terrain and I have Dreamscape with me.
The problem is - Dreamscape's too crude (at least too crude for me to handle) for me to fine tune specific areas, so I was thinking - maybe if I could edit the terrain as a mesh - maybe I could somehow create a displacement map based on an existing object... the only problem is - I'm not sure that's even possible.
Does anyone here have an idea how I could get a displace map based on an existing object?

Thanks.
 
Old 09-08-2005, 09:57 AM   #2
arneltapia
Expert
 
arneltapia's Avatar
portfolio
ARNEL Tapia
cebu, PH
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Just try this: collapse to edit poly, then use the "push pull paint deformation".
 
Old 09-08-2005, 09:57 AM   #3
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.