Photo real rendering help.

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

07 July 2005
Photo real rendering help.

I'm new to Mental Ray. I've been reading up on it and I've seen some really nice photo real renders. I'm trying to make my soda can here look as real as possible, but I can't seem to get it right. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

This is just a scanline render.

davidthany.com Blog

07 July 2005
Have you given it an environment to reflect? That'll be one of the most important things in a render like this (imo). Right now I can't tell if what I'm seeing near the edges is the edge of a shadow, or a reflection. You may also want to use fresnel reflections, to try and get highlights on the edges. You need a good environment for the reflections because that will help draw the reflections out some more without making the object overly reflective.
Also, since you've chosen such a light color for the design of your cans, maybe a pure white ground plane isn't the best pick? It makes the scene feel kind of flat.
Maybe reposition the camera, and adjust its FOV, as well. The current perspective is kind of odd, with the obvious outward angles in the two outer cans.
The shadows also need some attention, if you're going for photorealism. They seem pretty flat, although the edges are pretty soft. As light and soft as those shadows are, I'd expect to see a much greater falloff in the shadows (shadows getting smaller and softer as they get further from the objects). It also feels like you need a stronger shadow at the base of the cans to help ground them, but a darker area shadow would probably fix that.
I know you're probably wanting to focus on the material, but all of these elements are important for giving it that photorealistic feel.

07 July 2005
Hey Thany!!! Wow, never thought I'd be helping YOU out! Your DSG drawings are always so top notch. Anyways...