CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > NewTek Lightwave 3D
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-04-2005, 01:27 AM   #1
mdunakin
Lord of the posts
 
mdunakin's Avatar
Duh, animator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,237
Tablet Size?

I am looking into getting me one of them tablets for drawing textures with,
but I'm a bit lost on just which size would be best to work with?
I think??? that the size for me would be the 6x8in tablet, but I can afford the larger size,
if it's absolutely better, but I sort of don't feel I need that large of a tablet.
I'll of course, also be using it for working within LW too

Thanx..............md
 
Old 07-04-2005, 03:24 AM   #2
T4D
mE spiLl & tyPe baD>
 
T4D's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Thomas
3D Artist - Currently Hired Long Term -
Thomas4d Creations
United Arab Emirates
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,061
I got the mid sized IN3 wacom
thinking i didn't want my whole desk take over by it
But after you start using it, YOU''ll move things around for this thing !
GET THe BIGGEST ONE YOU CAN AFFORD !!!
the largest one was only $150 more then for mid sized one

I wish i got the biggest one

Happy with what i got, before i had a cheap O tablet,
Wacom IS the pro level very nice tool in everyway.
but next time I'll know
 
Old 07-04-2005, 04:45 AM   #3
coffeefery
Frequenter
 
coffeefery's Avatar
portfolio
Fery Tomi
3D Freelance Artist
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 204
Send a message via ICQ to coffeefery Send a message via MSN to coffeefery Send a message via Yahoo to coffeefery
After reading Timothy Albee's book on using 12 X 12 Wacomg tablet for his work, I decided to go for it too. Like what T4D said, it sure takes up a lot of space on your table. But then, when you start doing your work/project, you want absolute freedom in moving your pen without being 'boxed' into a space, right? That's where the "bigger is better" concept comes to play. The 12 X 12 (biggest currently) will allow you a lot of freedom without having to move your tablet, or your pen (the way you move your mouse) when working. Plus, Wacom tablets are fully customizable: you can choose the tablet/mouse mode, the acceleration/mouse speed, tablet size, etc. So if you do feel the size being too big, you can just 'downsize' it to your preferred size. Just to let you know again, it does take up a lot of table space

P.S. Some people prefer the mid-size ones. It's all up to your way of working.
 
Old 07-04-2005, 06:24 AM   #4
mdunakin
Lord of the posts
 
mdunakin's Avatar
Duh, animator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,237
Hmmm,,,, OK, thanx guys for your input.

Then I think I'll go with the next size up, which is something like,,,, ummm,,
Hang on, let me check their web site out.
Ok, it's the 9x12 size that I'm looking at.
It's 499, which I can afford.
So, does this one sound right for me?

I may also want to order that extra pen that's an airbrush type pen, as I work a LOT
with the airbrush tool for loads of my texturing and such, in DP3D and PS.
Here's the link to the one I'm interested in:
http://www.wacom.com/productinfo/9x12.cfm

Sound right to you all?
Sounds right to me
As for desk space, I'm not really worried, as I already DON'T have enough desk space
for ANY of these devices, BUT!, since they say you can "kick back and relax while
you work", I figure then that's just fine with me, as I can deal with that just fine.

Let me know what you think of this choice?
I'll be ordering three (I think???) things this week.
One is Vue 5 I and the tablet and I'm debating ordering Poser.
What do you all think of me ordering Poser?
I think that I would want to use it in conjunction with Vue?
As well as, I do quite a lot of medical work, and think that I might be able to
use "some" (not all, or even most) of some of what they have to offer that "look??"
like they'd work great for "some" of the medical jobs, but I am not sure?

Thanx for the inputs here.................md
Ummm,,,needless to say, I finally got paid
Still money owed me, but this'll due till then.


.........

Last edited by mdunakin : 07-05-2005 at 01:09 AM.
 
Old 07-05-2005, 04:11 AM   #5
Freak
Frequenter
Drug Dealer / Manufacturer
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 214
Red face

I have had a 12x12 Wacom for many years, (6 or so) and i refuse to use Photoshop or Modeler without it, I simply refuse to model without one....

But i have to say the 12x12 is large, and i would honestly go for a 6x8 next time....
I find, it annoying drawing with my whole arm, rather than just my wrist or hand..
You can set the size of the actual tablet size in software, to make it only use 6x8.
But i'd without doubt go for a smaller version, next time.... for that reason.
(And i believe i will be adding a new wireless 6x8 soon)

I will also say this, i'm afraid i'm a mutant Freak, because i can feel small concentrations
of EMF's (or what i presume them to be) and Tablets cause what i term as "Bone Ache"
it's a really deep ache, that feels like your'e bones are aching....
(Mobile Phones do the same thing to me, not to the extent of the tablet though)

But for me this means after around 20mins of usage, my whole arm aches....
rather than just the wrist, because my arm is usually resting on the tablet....
(And i won't mention, how that can you nerveous when you sit the tablet in your lap!!!)

Most people don't have to worry about this however, but for me, it's another reason, why 6x8 would be a better option..... From the clients i showed my tablets too, all of them bought 6x8's because it was too big for them... (Yeah all the girls say that too!

And apart from tracing, A3 type prints i can't really see the need for the extra size,
in hindsight...
 
Old 07-05-2005, 05:05 AM   #6
T4D
mE spiLl & tyPe baD>
 
T4D's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Thomas
3D Artist - Currently Hired Long Term -
Thomas4d Creations
United Arab Emirates
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,061
havn't used a air brush myself, but have read it's a waste of space afew times now.

the mouse is cool tho I don't uses it all the time, I got one of those 8 button mouse better for CA work.

I have poser 5 i pull content only out of it
Daz studio is come up pretty well Converting to that myself
if you havn't got daz try it and then see if you need poser.

Last edited by T4D : 07-05-2005 at 05:07 AM.
 
Old 07-05-2005, 06:26 AM   #7
mdunakin
Lord of the posts
 
mdunakin's Avatar
Duh, animator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,237
Well, since I posted this thread up, I "have" changed my mind.
Now am going to be getting the 6x8, as seeing how my style of drawing,
clear since I was a kid, has always been for the smaller areas.
I mean, that even if I draw a large picture, I "work" in smal areas,
and I feel that the 6x8 eill work far more better for me.
So, that's what I'm going with.

Anyway, thanx for everyone's input................md
 
Old 07-05-2005, 09:05 AM   #8
DMack
Lord of the posts
 
DMack's Avatar
David
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,108
Strange....I got an A5 wacom but for general use (including animation) I fond it too big....So I've set my size to around A6....Probably a bad idea for RSI issues but I found moving my whle arm around a bit tedious......SO others...do you really use the full A5 size for general use....I might have to try it again?
 
Old 07-05-2005, 02:28 PM   #9
Zarathustra
Some old guy
 
Zarathustra's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Mauriello
Artist, Educator
Wilmington, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,950
I just thought I'd add my weird experience with a tablet....

I had OLD CRTs and apparently they were emitting some kind of interference that messed with the pen and tablet. The result was if you held your hand still you could see the cursor shake.
Talking with Wacom tech support, it seems my experience isn't as unique as you think. They recommend keeping some distance from the monitor but that wasn't an option for me. Luckily now, I have LCDs and there is no problem with the pen and tablet anymore.
 
Old 07-06-2005, 02:02 PM   #10
coffeefery
Frequenter
 
coffeefery's Avatar
portfolio
Fery Tomi
3D Freelance Artist
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 204
Send a message via ICQ to coffeefery Send a message via MSN to coffeefery Send a message via Yahoo to coffeefery
Hi, Zarathustra. Regarding the 'cursor shake' experience, I have it too, even though my CRT monitor wasn't too old yet. To remedy the problem, I switched my screen refresh rate from 75 hertz to 85 hertz and my cursor never shake anymore. I could use 60 hertz too, but then, my screen does flicker a bit, and I find that annoying (although 60 hertz are easier on the eyes when reading text). With 85 herts, my tablet is right in front of the monitor and it works fine

P.S. I use an LCD screen too. They're good on both text and the tablet's cursor. The only bad thing is its color scheme, which is totally off from either the CRTs or prints.
 
Old 07-06-2005, 02:30 PM   #11
Zarathustra
Some old guy
 
Zarathustra's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Mauriello
Artist, Educator
Wilmington, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,950
Interesting. Wacom didn't say anything to me about refresh rate. Their help was, "move the tablet away from the monitors" which is hardly what I call tech support but hey, the tech support was free and I wasn't talking to someone in India so you take the good with the bad.

I rarely do work for print anymore. If it was my main medium I'd probably stay CRT or spend 3x as much as I did for a more color correct LCD along with a calibrator.

Regardless of your medium, a tablet should be as mandatory as your desk and chair. Drawing with a mouse is just awful and even for the mundane actions, it's much easier on your hand and wrist. Trust me, it will catch up with you one day. You don't stay young and immortal forever.

One last thing - specialty pens. The bad thing is you spend the $100 or so on an airbrush pen and then if you ever get a newer tablet the pen won't work with it. Wacom is pricey and I'm surprised no one ever emerged with a comparable tablet that was as good.
 
Old 07-06-2005, 04:24 PM   #12
mdunakin
Lord of the posts
 
mdunakin's Avatar
Duh, animator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,237
Hmmm,,, I'm running a CRT Flat screen style monitor (with those screen wires) right now!

I hope I'm not going to have any issues like you all here have mentioned with the cursor shaking and all?
And, I'm running mine at the Default of 60hz!

I didn't even think you could mess around with changing settings for the monitor, on things like the 60hz?

Ummm,, anyway, I guess I am curious "now" since someone brought it up,
but with even the 6x8 size that I'm wanting, am I going to be having
to move my arm all over the place just to use the thing?
Cuz if that's the case, I'll go for the even smaller version, as I
don't feel like working my arm that much or my wrist/hand.

And no, I won't waste any money on any extra pens,
as I've been told that it's a waste by others as well.

In any case, right now, Amazon is practically giving away the tablet I want,
as they're 68 bucks less then the sale price at Wacom right now!
I think it's like, $329 at Wacom and only something like $281 at Amazon.
(normally, I think it's about $349)

and thanx guys for the input..........md
glad I don't always jump into buying something to quickly.
oh, and my Vue 5I is on it's way, heh heh
 
Old 07-06-2005, 08:32 PM   #13
Bytehawk
Master of ceremony
 
Bytehawk's Avatar
Kurt Dorne
Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,042
Send a message via ICQ to Bytehawk
I also thought smaller was better for me. That was until I got to try the bigger one. As soon as I could I upgraded to an A4 tablet

I love my tablet
__________________
insert something smart here _______

website
 
Old 07-06-2005, 08:42 PM   #14
mdunakin
Lord of the posts
 
mdunakin's Avatar
Duh, animator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,237
Well, "you" sure have THEEEE awesome setup there, there's no dought about that!
Killer system/setup!

I just placed my order with Amazon and got a great deal of $281.00.
I decided on the 6x8 as I feel this will serve me well and also, I simply
don't have that kind of desk space I see that you have, WOW!
Flat screens and a cable router and everything!

Well, I didn't let my system setup have a chance to see
your killer setup, or it would of gotten jelous LOL

Anyway, thanx all for the inputs and I think I'm going to be the happy camper

I'm happy with the size of it.................md
 
Old 07-06-2005, 08:49 PM   #15
mdunakin
Lord of the posts
 
mdunakin's Avatar
Duh, animator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,237
BTW, helll would freeze over, before my desk ever got as clean as your desk top is.

Frig!, are you working in a "clean room" or something?
There's soooooo much flippin dust in my place, that it's pointless
to even try and keep things as spotless as your work area is.
My appartment is just tooo damm dusty, no other way to put it.
And the ONLY way to keep it cleaner then it is, would be if I dusted
ALLLL the time, everyday! LOL
And "that" isn't about to happen.
My neighbors tell me their rooms are dusty like mine too, so at least I
don't feel so badly about it, as there's just not much you can do,
when there's always tons of dust coming in from outside here.

Umm,,, anyway............md
P.S. I "do" keep a can of air here, to at least "try" and blast the dust away.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.