CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2005, 05:01 AM   #1
rodney71
Frequenter
 
rodney71's Avatar
Rod Sawatsky
graphic designer
BC, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 234
CPT Stepchild with Iterator question

I like to use StepChild a lot with a loft object to generate splines on the fly.
It usually works fine if I use Jenna's Iterator on a single spline child object. However, if I turn up the count (number of splines generated) in the AM of Iterator, the Step child tag on the loft nurbs generator atomatically places all the generated splines inside a null object...and the loft ceases to work.

Also, using tweener does the same thing. Try tweening between two splines and placing the tween in a stepchild tag. It generates all the resulting splines inside a null object and the loft won't work.

Does anyone know how to avoid having the splines placed inside a null?
 
Old 05-05-2005, 10:01 AM   #2
pasto
Lord of the posts
 
pasto's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Jerome Pastorello pasto
Paris, FR
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to pasto
It doesn't generate any null objects here.
I don't understand your question, why using an iterator with only one iteration ?
Works perfectly here like this :




Whatever (i must be missing something) if it creates a null try putting this null (with all the splines
generated by the Stepchild) in a 'hierarchy2spline' (found in the CPT palette menu).

Like this :



Hope this helps
 
Old 05-05-2005, 10:05 AM   #3
pasto
Lord of the posts
 
pasto's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Jerome Pastorello pasto
Paris, FR
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to pasto
By the way your callygraphic work looks very nice.
 
Old 05-05-2005, 07:42 PM   #4
rodney71
Frequenter
 
rodney71's Avatar
Rod Sawatsky
graphic designer
BC, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 234
THanks for the effort Pasto, but Hierarchy to Spline won't work for a loft object which requires a series of splines. Here is a sample file I roughed together to show what I'm talking about. If I use Iterator or Tweener in their simplest form then there are no problems. when I add a path spline to add more control to the flow of iterated splines, then all of a sudden the step child tag interprets things differently and automatically puts the generated splines in a Null object.

see if you can make sense of it. http://www.rodsg.com/test/steptest.c4d
 
Old 05-05-2005, 07:43 PM   #5
rodney71
Frequenter
 
rodney71's Avatar
Rod Sawatsky
graphic designer
BC, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 234
oh, thanks for the complement as well. I'm glad you appreciate it.
 
Old 05-05-2005, 08:29 PM   #6
JoelDubin
Lard of the pots
portfolio
Joel Dubin
Creative Director
MadMicrobe
United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6,559
I've had this exact same thing happen.

You can convert the iterator instances into stepchild objects that can be used in your loftnurbs.

You can add a 2nd spline to the heirrarchy below the spline child, and stepchild continues to keep the splines live in your loftnurbs.

But if you change the settings in iterator to "spline alignment" the splines end up in a null. A bug I guess--maybe post over at CA?
__________________
_____________________________

MadMicrobe
MadMograph (blog)
Behance
 
Old 05-05-2005, 10:17 PM   #7
pasto
Lord of the posts
 
pasto's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Jerome Pastorello pasto
Paris, FR
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to pasto
Only happens when using the path option of the Tweener here.
I managed to get a result with the hierarchy2spline but I guess it is not what you want...
STEPCHILD

I guess you are aware that Stepchild doesn't stand to be touched or moved.
Please post that on Core forum. Darf anyone ?...
 
Old 05-05-2005, 11:11 PM   #8
TimC
Luxx
 
TimC's Avatar
Tim Clapham
Australia
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by pasto
I guess you are aware that Stepchild doesn't stand to be touched or moved.
Please post that on Core forum. Darf anyone ?...


Alas, it seems that stepchild has been orphaned.

It is the anarchic child that cannot be tamed! Damn I'll miss CPT.

Tim
__________________
LUXX
3D Animation and Motion Graphics
helloluxx
Professional MoGraph & VFX Training

@helloluxx
facebook
 
Old 05-08-2005, 01:37 AM   #9
JDP
Lord of the posts
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 828
Hi rodney71, if you change the origin offset on the path page of Tweener in the file you posted to anything between 1 and 4% and 55 and 104% stepchild will not produce a null, any number between 5 and 54,105 and 154, 205 and 254 etc will produce a null . Seems to be a strange bug. Stepchild produces nulls in some situations and not in others. In one file I had if I set alignment to a positive a Null was produced i.e +X but not if the alignment was set to -X.
 
Old 05-08-2005, 01:37 AM   #10
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.