CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Compositing Software > Adobe After Effects
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2005, 08:47 PM   #1
gORDEK
Veteran
 
gORDEK's Avatar
multimedia-producer (as SAE says..)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 65
!!Help!! Make an Expression start on a keyframe !!Help!!

Hi there again,

after i have solved the first problem i had (also posted here...), i encountered the second: i need to know, how i can get an expression for a layer-property to start on a keyframe and not at the start of the layer... everytime i add my expression to the layer-property (here: scale), it starts right at the start of the layer, but i want to start it at an specific point...

any ideas?

thank you...

gordek
__________________
...i'm nothing more than a grain of salt
in the salt of the earth and everything
is grace. [mineral]
 
Old 04-24-2005, 11:41 PM   #2
Shinjipierre
2d/3d artist
 
Shinjipierre's Avatar
portfolio
Rémi PIERRE
FX TD
Digital domain
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 175
Send a message via MSN to Shinjipierre
Type this as an expression :

Quote:
if(time < this.keyTime(1)) {
this
} else {
your expression
}


I don't know if that will work, I've just reinstalled my comp but didn't reinstall after effects for now
__________________

FX TD at digital domain Vancouver
www.remipierre.fr/demoreel/
 
Old 04-25-2005, 12:10 AM   #3
XanderFX
Bot Master
 
XanderFX's Avatar
portfolio
Chuck arrivas
Jack of all Trades and Bot Master
Stupid Fun Club, Berkeley, CA
Concord, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 445
Send a message via MSN to XanderFX
You could pre-compse it into a new comp and then place the begining of the comp whre you want it to begin or duplicate the layer onne with the expression and one without and then just end the first layer at the frame you want it to start and then start the second layer at the the same fram
 
Old 04-25-2005, 06:06 PM   #4
dwkim
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 48
Make a slider, mutiply your espressions by the slider. Animate the slider from 0 to 1 (or beyond) when you want your expression's effect to increase. Best thing about doing it this way is that you can animate your expression in and out with full use of the motion graph, and can multiply the effect to be stronger or weaker easily.
__________________
-Don
 
Old 04-26-2005, 10:48 PM   #5
Lowki
Veteran
portfolio
Luke Bicevskis
Naha, Japan
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 77
just split your clip where you would like the expression to start (apple+shift+D) and then apply the expression to the split section you want to effect.
 
Old 04-27-2005, 01:51 PM   #6
gORDEK
Veteran
 
gORDEK's Avatar
multimedia-producer (as SAE says..)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 65
yapp, the method, lowki pointed out, worked for me, thank you all...

gordek
__________________
...i'm nothing more than a grain of salt
in the salt of the earth and everything
is grace. [mineral]
 
Old 04-27-2005, 01:51 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.