CGTalk > Software > Lightwave 3D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2002, 09:16 PM   #1
New Member
Programmer/Web Design
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to disdain
Lightwave Screamer Questions


I am fairly new to Lightwave and have the luxory of working at a computer shop which allows me to get my hands on several second hand machines.

I have recently setup a small 3 node rendering network using Lightwaves internal ScreamerNet II and was wondering if there was any difference between rendering with this method rather than directly through lightwave.

Aside from the obvious benifit of speed, are there any dis-advantages or features which are not supported by this rendering setup.

My second question might be better suited for the hardware forum so forgive me if I am a little off topic.

My main machine is a Dual PIII/866, I remeber reading somewhere that you should run a sperate screamer node for each processor.

Does anyone know if this /really/ gives better performace?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks - dis
Old 02-15-2002, 12:42 AM   #2
I'm no rocket scientist
polarman3d's Avatar
Animation and Motion Graphics Designer
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 96
I actually use ScreamerNet to render almost all of my animations. I've noticed a substantial impact on render time (for the good). The only thing that I've had difficulty with is getting all the nodes on other machines to recognize the Content Directory and all the plug-in files across the network. But, if worse comes to worse, I just render using the two procs on my system (each proc assigned to an instance of ScreamerNet) and that is faster.

I hope this helps. ...sorry if it doesn't!
Old 02-15-2002, 03:48 AM   #3
New Member
Programmer/Web Design
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to disdain
Thanks, I'll have to do a few benchmarks myself.

I'm running a PC platform with mapped drives and have had no problems so far with the content directories. I usually look over the scene file in a text editor before hand to make sure all the paths are correct.

Thanks - Dis
Old 01-13-2006, 02:00 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.