CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2005, 01:15 PM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 57
Renderdrive / PURE vs maya software render


I'm considering the purcase of some more muscle for rendering, as the projects I work on is getting heavier.

I've been looking at Renderdrive and PURE from ART

Does anybody have experience with such?

Currently I'm on a pc (p4 3G 1GB mem, some fast graphic card) how much faster is the PURE card? How much faster is the renderDrive?

Is there something I should be aware of when it comes to maya? Like light types that can't be rendered, shading nodes etc.

Is there any alternatives to ART's renderdrive and PURE

I really don't know much about all this, so any help will be apprciated.

: ) Jakob
Old 02-11-2005, 01:47 PM   #2
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
hardware vs software renders

i wouldn't buy a pure

i don't like hardware solutions
they are costly
i would suggest you to buy a bunch of fast pcs
and build a cluster
it's more work but more useful
Old 02-11-2005, 03:32 PM   #3
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 57
No one..?!? Realy? No one?!?
Old 02-11-2005, 04:00 PM   #4
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 146
I have absolutely no experience with it, but from what I can tell from their web site ( ) it seems damned fast for raytracing.

I would assume that a lot of maya specific stuff like fluids paintfx and probably particles is not supported. You can actually download the interface & test scene from their web site to check it out for yourself:

PURE costs around $3500 and Renderdrive starts at $14000...

Let us know how what you find!


Last edited by zylphyr : 02-11-2005 at 04:12 PM.
Old 02-12-2005, 01:55 PM   #5
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 57
thanks for answering - if I end up buying any of those, i'll post some results here.

Thanks, Jakob
Old 02-12-2005, 03:22 PM   #6
intermediate object
ceql's Avatar
Carlos Lin
Wellington, New Zealand
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,428
Unfortunately I have no experience with them, but I found some threads in the Lighting & Rendering forum that might be interesting for you;

"Renderdrive RD 5000"

"Nvidia Gelato vs ARTvps RD5000"
Old 03-16-2005, 11:09 PM   #7
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 50
Pure Card

the Pure Card is an excellent raytracer - I ve recently got into Paint Effects in Maya - I ve produced some top results in record time with the card.

HDRi is really fast with it too
Old 03-17-2005, 08:45 AM   #8
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 57
pete016 > Thanks for the comment. A lot is speaking against the PURE solution, but I havn't made the final choice yet.

: )
Old 03-17-2005, 08:47 AM   #9
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 57
hehe... now that was directly translated from danish. Not sure if the meaning is the same in EN. What I ment was, I think the PURE will be a good solution... : ) ... Damn, I'm getting rusty at this...
Old 03-18-2005, 11:21 AM   #10
LeeGriggs's Avatar
Lee Griggs
Technical author
Solid Angle
Madrid, España
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 873
Send a message via MSN to LeeGriggs

I use pure and renderdrive regularly. It is the most physically accurate renderer that I have used. Because its hardware rendering it means it can do a lot of things that mental ray 'says' it can do but cant because of its humungous render times. The thing is I was sceptical about it being a unique piece of dedicated hardware, however you really need to use it in order to appreciate it.

It uses this cool technology called 'parallel raytracing' which basically means it chucks all of the rays into the scene and gives you back a fully raytraced image in seconds! It then increases the quality over time. This means you can work faster than the bucket style of rendering that typical software does.

If you want to test it out, send me a heavy model (that isnt confidential)and Ill render it out for you.



Old 03-21-2005, 05:25 PM   #11
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 57

Thanks alot for the generous offer, but I have no doubt that the PURE card will deliver a top quality. I was mainly interested in hearing the oppinion from advanced users like your self, and make sure that it really was as stunning fast as they say (never trust a sales man - hehe) It seems thuogh, that it's true.

Is it possible to add more than one card to a machine, and make them work together? (not that I'll need that now, but perhaps later)

: ) Jakob
Old 03-21-2005, 08:02 PM   #12
pixel mixer
busy bee
pixel mixer's Avatar
adrian cruceru
digital FX
bucharest, Romania
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 158
yes, you can have a dual PURE in your system
not enough mana to cast spell
rendering aborted
Old 03-21-2005, 08:02 PM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.