CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2004, 05:15 AM   #1
MJV
Jedi kitty master
 
MJV's Avatar
Michael Vance
Pixalographer
MVP
New York, USA
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,572
Default slider ranges?

What is with the default slider range for light intensity? It goes from zero to one. Does that make sense to anyone? I know I can type in a value but that's ridiculous. Just how ubiquitous is this slider range problem in XSI?
 
Old 11-28-2004, 09:51 AM   #2
Ablefish
I miss the NHL.
 
Ablefish's Avatar
Jean-Paul LeDoux
FX Artist
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 545
In general I have very little use for both the slider ranges and default values in many of the xsi property pages. However, Light Intensity is probably one of the few places where I don't mind the 0 to 1 range. Why does that bother you so much?
__________________
Jean-Paul LeDoux
Getting Started in XSI
 
Old 11-28-2004, 06:07 PM   #3
MJV
Jedi kitty master
 
MJV's Avatar
Michael Vance
Pixalographer
MVP
New York, USA
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ablefish
Why does that bother you so much?

Because I want the usable slider range to be between off and very bright, not between off and normal.
 
Old 11-28-2004, 06:51 PM   #4
JDex
First Prime of Anistropic
 
JDex's Avatar
portfolio
Jason Dexter
Lighting/Rendering/Pipeline TD
Freedom
Providence, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,594
SI needs to implement a feature that allows you to set slider range on the fly... w/ options to make the change persistant per property type... I'll add it to my wishlist at the base... and anyone who agrees should do the same...

XSIbase 4.5 Wishlist Thread
If you decide to add to the wish list, be sure to read the opening thread and follow the posting rules for the thread carefully... it is heavily moderated and posts that don't conform get blown away.

Cheers
__________________
JDex
(Sans Gerfuffle)

On a VFX Hiatus
 
Old 11-28-2004, 08:01 PM   #5
Eraq
Frequenter
Erik Nielsen
Copenhagen, DK
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 178
If you have good nerves or are a programming-guy, you can find the related *.spdl and change the the range of the parameters you want.

(If Im not mistaken that is....)

Erik
 
Old 11-28-2004, 09:03 PM   #6
thebigMuh
Veteran
Programmer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 75
-) What slider range would you suggest instead of 0...1? -1...1? 0...10? 100? I think it's a reasonable default.

-) If you need more input and don't want to move your mouse hand to the keyboard (I know that I don't like to enter values manually), then just use the mouse wheel or virtual slider.

-) Not much of programming needed. Just right-click on the light grey area where it tells you the shader name (soft_light here) and select "Edit...". In the editor that opens, look for the parameter you want to change, and just change it. Example:
Code:
intensity { Name = "Intensity"; Description = "Color Intensity"; UIRange = 0.0 to 1.0 by 0.01; }


-) Then use right-click->Refresh to reload the SPDL (you might have to restart).
Ciao, ˇmuh!
__________________
The grass is always greener on my side.
 
Old 11-28-2004, 10:21 PM   #7
comanche
Know-it-All
 
comanche's Avatar
Graphic Designer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 381
Another way to get around the slider limit is to click and drag over the edit field left to the slider to increase/decrease the value by 1. Hold down Shift or hold down Ctrl while dragging to change values by 0.1 or 10.

EDIT: sory, do not drag left/right. Drag clockwise/counterclockwise. Here's the description in the manual:

Quote:
To enter information by gestural input (scrubbing)
  • Click and drag the mouse pointer in a circular motion over a text box that supports numeric values. This is known as scrubbing. To increase the value, scrub in a clockwise direction; to decrease the value, scrub in a counterclockwise direction.
    • Press the Shift key while scrubbing to increment or decrement values by a factor of 0.1.
    • Press the Ctrl key while scrubbing to increment or decrement values by a factor of 10.
Cheers,
Andreas

Last edited by comanche : 11-28-2004 at 10:32 PM.
 
Old 11-29-2004, 03:12 AM   #8
CraigT
Frequenter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 116
Another way is to set the RGB values higher(like 10, 10, 10) and then use Intensity for the amount of light. This works just fine unless you decide to use a slider to change one of the values. :-)
__________________
Craig Townsend
 
Old 11-29-2004, 03:45 AM   #9
MJV
Jedi kitty master
 
MJV's Avatar
Michael Vance
Pixalographer
MVP
New York, USA
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebigMuh
-) What slider range would you suggest instead of 0...1? -1...1? 0...10? 100? I think it's a reasonable default.

-) If you need more input and don't want to move your mouse hand to the keyboard (I know that I don't like to enter values manually), then just use the mouse wheel or virtual slider.

-) Not much of programming needed. Just right-click on the light grey area where it tells you the shader name (soft_light here) and select "Edit...". In the editor that opens, look for the parameter you want to change, and just change it. Example:
Code:
intensity { Name = "Intensity"; Description = "Color Intensity"; UIRange = 0.0 to 1.0 by 0.01; }


-) Then use right-click->Refresh to reload the SPDL (you might have to restart).
Ciao, ˇmuh!

Thanks bigMuh. The SPDL file is read-only by default. I had to first find the file in the finder and open properties and then toggle off the read-only status. After that I was able to change the slider range. I set the new slider intensity range from 0.0 to 1.8. Works perfectly. Thanks.
 
Old 11-29-2004, 04:10 AM   #10
MJV
Jedi kitty master
 
MJV's Avatar
Michael Vance
Pixalographer
MVP
New York, USA
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by comanche
Another way to get around the slider limit is to click and drag over the edit field left to the slider to increase/decrease the value by 1. Hold down Shift or hold down Ctrl while dragging to change values by 0.1 or 10.

EDIT: sory, do not drag left/right. Drag clockwise/counterclockwise. Here's the description in the manual:

Cheers,
Andreas

Thanks comanche. I had read about that in the manual. There are three problems here:

1) Seems a little silly to have a value whose default range is zero to one suddenly increment by whole numbers when using the wheel or gestural input. Ok, you can use the shift key.

2) When I use the wheel, if the window itself has a scroll bar, the window itself will scrub as well as the number. The application should scrub one or the other depending upon what is or isn't selected. Not both at the same time.

3) Gestural input is very cool and I admire the idea a lot but it seems to require quite a lot of gesturing before the app finally catches on to what I'm trying to do. Do people really use this feature? And again, the value increments sometimes don't make much sense.
 
Old 11-29-2004, 10:27 AM   #11
yog
Vertex basher
 
yog's Avatar
Mark CMark
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebigMuh
-) What slider range would you suggest instead of 0...1? -1...1? 0...10? 100? I think it's a reasonable default.

-) If you need more input and don't want to move your mouse hand to the keyboard (I know that I don't like to enter values manually), then just use the mouse wheel or virtual slider.

-) Not much of programming needed. Just right-click on the light grey area where it tells you the shader name (soft_light here) and select "Edit...". In the editor that opens, look for the parameter you want to change, and just change it. Example:
Code:
intensity { Name = "Intensity"; Description = "Color Intensity"; UIRange = 0.0 to 1.0 by 0.01; }


-) Then use right-click->Refresh to reload the SPDL (you might have to restart).
Ciao, ˇmuh!
Many thanks TheBigMuh, a great tip

On a related note, is there any way of setting the default starting value for sliders ?
I'm thinking manly of the cube primitive. A default value of 8 seems a bit odd. I've found the SPDL that sets the slider range for cube construction, but oddly it didn't appear to have the default starting value for each slider.

Ta.
__________________
Kernow bys vykken!!!
 
Old 01-20-2006, 12:00 AM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.