CGTalk > Software > Lightwave 3D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2002, 05:38 AM   #1
Memodin
Frequenter
 
Memodin's Avatar
portfolio
Varis Kaya
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
Unhappy LW and my computer

Ok.
I have changed my computer from AMD to intel cpu(p4-1600a).
Also changed my mainboard to intel (abit bd7-II)

I am using XP. And LW 7.5.

But it still crashes when i click right mouse button to open a menu box in surface editor, it crashes and exits.

There is a bad stability problem of mine.

I dont use complicated meshes or objects.

Simpe object and when surfacing it, i am clicking right mouse button (for ex. adding shader or copying pasting something) it crashes.

Do u have same problems guys? Why why why?
 
Old 08-23-2002, 06:06 AM   #2
DeViSoR
Frequenter
 
DeViSoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 140
hmm did you ever try out a other gfx card? It might be your gfx card.... And it is also a possibility that your psu is the faulth.
 
Old 08-23-2002, 06:17 AM   #3
Kaiser_Sose
Space For Rent
 
Kaiser_Sose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,224
From reading your post it seems like you have some sort of graphics conflict. What card are you using
 
Old 08-23-2002, 06:50 AM   #4
Memodin
Frequenter
 
Memodin's Avatar
portfolio
Varis Kaya
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
Sory i forgot

it is 128mb GF3 ti 200 (3.8.02 driver version)


Can it be about the driver version?

Hmm... let me try another. But i dont think so.
 
Old 08-23-2002, 07:32 PM   #5
Naisart
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It may also be the harddrive. I had a similar problem not so long ago, whenever I tried to work with bones in Layout, it would crash. I tried differant drivers, differant operating systems but it would still crash. I would also get a lot of bluescreens now and then. But then I ran chkdsk (or something like that) in DOS and it said that my harddrive had errors that couldnīt be fixed. So I took one harddrive out, reinstalled everything on the other and that fixed my problem.

So if you have another harddrive you should try what I did.
Maybe itīll fix the problem.
 
Old 08-23-2002, 07:54 PM   #6
Memodin
Frequenter
 
Memodin's Avatar
portfolio
Varis Kaya
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
Thanks for replies

I have a new Segate barracuda 60 gb. hdd .
No errors about hdd.

But i realized that, especially ozone3d - 2 demo is causing the crash.


In any case the problem is about that.
 
Old 08-23-2002, 08:54 PM   #7
UnrealSnowman
carbon based lightwaver
 
UnrealSnowman's Avatar
Active, mostly active!
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 91
I had a few lockups with my QuadroDCC card in Lightwave while using the newest drivers from nvidia. I tested a few yet newer beta drivers.. with no luck.. Still it locks up, and hang the whole system!

If you go to nvidia's site you can check what driver that is certified for certain apps. It states that the v12.41 is the certified driver for the nvidia family (no gf4driver in that version) and that driver solved my problems..
http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=IO_20010723_6513

The driver was a bit slow when it came to gaming so I wanted to find a newer one that worked good.. I found out that PNY v29.80 runs damn good allround'

You can find the driver here:
http://www.pny.com/quadro/support/

My machine is much like yours (P4 2.4 + AbitIT7 + GF3modded to QuadroDCC) So I hope it's only this driver that will get you going!
__________________
UnrealSnowman - Artist Wannabe :arteest:

Last edited by UnrealSnowman : 08-24-2002 at 09:26 AM.
 
Old 08-23-2002, 11:47 PM   #8
Memodin
Frequenter
 
Memodin's Avatar
portfolio
Varis Kaya
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
wow...

How can i convert my gf3 to a quadrodcc? That will be great.

Also, how much performance am i going to have?

How can i understand that?

Thanks.

 
Old 08-24-2002, 09:21 AM   #9
UnrealSnowman
carbon based lightwaver
 
UnrealSnowman's Avatar
Active, mostly active!
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 91
Go to google and do a search on "mod quadro geforce" should put a few links up

However, i did it becourse I come from Maya. Maya require OpenGL overlay for imageplanes and so. I believe Lightwave OpenGL runs good on most cards.

So if you ask me:
Don't risk ****ing up your card if not you use 3dsmax (let's you run dedicated drivers for max) or Maya.

You can do the 'hack' with a tool called Rivaturner, but this is a pure software way, and some have problems getting it to work - I did it the hardware way(actually before the card touched the motherboard for the first time - A risk!)
__________________
UnrealSnowman - Artist Wannabe :arteest:
 
Old 09-03-2002, 03:21 AM   #10
PNelson
NewTek Exec.
 
PNelson's Avatar
Philip Nelson
SVP - Strategic Development
NewTek
San Antonio, United States Minor Outlying Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 207
Send a message via ICQ to PNelson Send a message via AIM to PNelson Send a message via Yahoo to PNelson
I love the nVidia cards, but would strongly urge you to download the reference drivers from nVidia's website.. Detonator Drivers..

Most the graphic card problems that I've had are cleared up when using the reference drivers..

Hope this helps.

See Ya,
Philip Nelson
NewTek
Director of Worldwide Sales
 
Old 09-03-2002, 03:28 AM   #11
DigitalDeuce
Creative Imagineering Inc
 
DigitalDeuce's Avatar
Deuce
Anything that pays
Creative Imagineering Inc.
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 412
Send a message via ICQ to DigitalDeuce Send a message via AIM to DigitalDeuce Send a message via Yahoo to DigitalDeuce
Absolutely. NVidea and their drivers.

Love 'em.
__________________
~Deuce
 
Old 01-13-2006, 03:00 PM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright Đ2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.