CGTalk > More Forums > Click Here for: > pmG messiah
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2004, 09:04 PM   #1
tjnyc
Lord of the posts
 
tjnyc's Avatar
portfolio
Tony Jung
Digital Artist
New York City, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,369
Messiah <-> C4D workaround revisited

Here is better workaround than my previously posted one, less of a hassle with this method.

- Setup your object(s) in C4D and launch messiah via the Dialog and successfully send your objects to messiah.
- Save your messiah scene file and when asked to save the model do so, preferrably as a obj format. It should create an object folder.
- Save you scene in C4D and close C4D.
- Work standalone in messiah after that using the saved messiah scene file.
- When you are ready to bring your finished work from messiah to C4D, open C4D and Launch messiah from the dialog.
- Clear the scene in messiah if you need to.
- Load the saved messiah scene in messiah, it will prompt you if you want to connect to the host, choose yes.
- Your object should now appear in C4D.
It works, just in a different way. I hope this helps.


Cheers,
__________________
"Make something idiot proof and they'll just build a better idiot."
 
Old 11-04-2004, 03:55 PM   #2
Thalaxis
Lord of the posts
Rakesh Malik
Senior Software Engineer
Walt Disney Interactive Media Group
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,771
Send a message via ICQ to Thalaxis Send a message via AIM to Thalaxis Send a message via Yahoo to Thalaxis
Which version(s) of Cinema have you tried that with?

Thanks -- that might help with something I'm working on right now
 
Old 11-04-2004, 04:01 PM   #3
tjnyc
Lord of the posts
 
tjnyc's Avatar
portfolio
Tony Jung
Digital Artist
New York City, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,369
I test this out in R8.5. I believe it will work as well in R9, from what I have heard back.

Cheers,
__________________
"Make something idiot proof and they'll just build a better idiot."
 
Old 11-04-2004, 04:16 PM   #4
Thalaxis
Lord of the posts
Rakesh Malik
Senior Software Engineer
Walt Disney Interactive Media Group
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,771
Send a message via ICQ to Thalaxis Send a message via AIM to Thalaxis Send a message via Yahoo to Thalaxis
Cool... I haven't gotten v9 yet, so that's good news for me

Thanks!
 
Old 11-04-2004, 04:25 PM   #5
tjnyc
Lord of the posts
 
tjnyc's Avatar
portfolio
Tony Jung
Digital Artist
New York City, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,369
One more point.

If you already have setup your materials and stuff in C4D, independent of the messiah connection, save the file separately with no messiah tagged objects. Merge with the scene in C4D and drag and drop you materials to the "new" objects coming from messiah.


Cheers,
__________________
"Make something idiot proof and they'll just build a better idiot."
 
Old 11-04-2004, 08:34 PM   #6
Thalaxis
Lord of the posts
Rakesh Malik
Senior Software Engineer
Walt Disney Interactive Media Group
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,771
Send a message via ICQ to Thalaxis Send a message via AIM to Thalaxis Send a message via Yahoo to Thalaxis
Thanks for the note... I hadn't thought that far ahead yet.
 
Old 11-05-2004, 07:24 AM   #7
Suricate
Lord of the posts
Chess Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 582
Thanks for the info, tjnyc !

One question though: I always encounter crashes when I try to attach a bone (in messiah:animate/studio) to an object that is connected to Cinema4D. Even when I am using your method, C4D crashes as soon as I am trying to connect an object with bones. This crash doesn't happen when I apply other effects (e.g. 'Bloat') to that object. Someone else encountered this problem ?

I'm using messiah:studio 2.0b and Cinema4D XL 8.5.
__________________
Christopher Lutz
3D Amateur
www.animationsnippets.com

Last edited by Suricate : 11-05-2004 at 07:26 AM.
 
Old 11-05-2004, 05:32 PM   #8
tjnyc
Lord of the posts
 
tjnyc's Avatar
portfolio
Tony Jung
Digital Artist
New York City, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,369
I don't have that problem. Did you recently installed messiah 2?


Cheers,
__________________
"Make something idiot proof and they'll just build a better idiot."
 
Old 11-05-2004, 09:32 PM   #9
Suricate
Lord of the posts
Chess Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 582
I upgraded only recently from messiah:animate 5 to messiah:studio 2, but I had the problem of C4D crashing already with m:a. I guess the reason is my shortage of RAM (I have only a meagre 512 MB) which is not nough with two huge apps running.
Another strange thing I found out is that when I startup m:s from C4D, the objects from the last connection appear in messiah out of nowhere. This seems to be related to the Sketch & Toon module; that module creates some pref files at startup which causes a hiccup in the connection ...

I think the best thing is probably to wait for Mark Wilson to port PointOven to C4D or, even better, if pmG drops the idea of a live connection altogether and creates their own stable interchange file format with reader plugins for all major apps.
__________________
Christopher Lutz
3D Amateur
www.animationsnippets.com
 
Old 11-05-2004, 09:40 PM   #10
tjnyc
Lord of the posts
 
tjnyc's Avatar
portfolio
Tony Jung
Digital Artist
New York City, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,369
The ghost scene is something I get as well. You just need to clear the scene in messiah.


Cheers,
__________________
"Make something idiot proof and they'll just build a better idiot."
 
Old 11-05-2004, 09:46 PM   #11
Thalaxis
Lord of the posts
Rakesh Malik
Senior Software Engineer
Walt Disney Interactive Media Group
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,771
Send a message via ICQ to Thalaxis Send a message via AIM to Thalaxis Send a message via Yahoo to Thalaxis
They'd probably be better off adding FBX support than trying to roll their own, I think.

And I agree with you that it might be a better way to handle integration.
 
Old 11-05-2004, 09:52 PM   #12
tjnyc
Lord of the posts
 
tjnyc's Avatar
portfolio
Tony Jung
Digital Artist
New York City, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,369
Agree. Though I think PointOven is the most likely alternative in the foreseeable future.
__________________
"Make something idiot proof and they'll just build a better idiot."
 
Old 11-05-2004, 10:01 PM   #13
Thalaxis
Lord of the posts
Rakesh Malik
Senior Software Engineer
Walt Disney Interactive Media Group
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,771
Send a message via ICQ to Thalaxis Send a message via AIM to Thalaxis Send a message via Yahoo to Thalaxis
Well, one can hope, right?
 
Old 11-05-2004, 10:26 PM   #14
Suricate
Lord of the posts
Chess Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 582
FBX format involves licensing costs and therefore might be out of reach in the moment. But in my opinion a very simple format like MDD for deformations and one format for motions should be enough. I just mentioned that pmG should develop their own format as NewTek might demand licensing fees for using MDD !?
__________________
Christopher Lutz
3D Amateur
www.animationsnippets.com
 
Old 11-06-2004, 04:47 PM   #15
Thalaxis
Lord of the posts
Rakesh Malik
Senior Software Engineer
Walt Disney Interactive Media Group
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,771
Send a message via ICQ to Thalaxis Send a message via AIM to Thalaxis Send a message via Yahoo to Thalaxis
True... it's a shame that Kaydara/Alias are continuing to insist on charging for the FBX SDK :(
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.