Old 11-01-2004, 12:14 AM   #1
FrankFirsching
Veteran
Frank Firsching
Developer
Germany

FXWars! Roller Coaster!: Frank Firsching

Hi!

Ok, this is my first attempt on the FXWars challenges. Roller coasters are something that I really couldn't resist. The last day I spent with trying things out and checking, what can be done in which way. This is the result:

Test Movie (500k, DivX / Xvid)

It could be a short part of the complete track. Everything in this short movie is procedural. Not only the animation, but the tracks and pillars are built automatically, too. All that is needed as input, is a curve with normals, that describe the orientation of the track. The normal vectors control the rolls and twists.

Until I forget it, this was made using Houdini 7 Apprentice.

Frank

Old 11-01-2004, 03:10 AM   #2
Sir_Vuclan
Frequenter

portfolio
Shawn Creviston
Programmer, Instructor, 3D Artist
Wisconsin, United%2BStates

Very nice test. Looks like you just have to finish the track and send it in...

Old 11-01-2004, 05:01 AM   #3
laluneverte
Veteran
Helge Mathee
Principal Engineer
Fabric Engine Inc
Hamburg, Germany

great!

another german dude, and the same approach as our's... argh...

It's going to be hard to win this contest... ;-)

keep up the good work!

Old 11-01-2004, 08:11 AM   #4
ACantarel
Helicopter-Guy

portfolio
Andre Cantarel
CG Model Supervisor
santa Monica, USA

Hehe, the German dudes are coming!

Grüße aus Heidelberg!

André

Old 11-01-2004, 10:13 AM   #5
FrankFirsching
Veteran
Frank Firsching
Developer
Germany

Thanks for the nice critics :-)

Sir_Vulcan: I don't think it's quite so easy. Till now only the middle wagon is being simulated. The others are simply offset on the curve. This morning I had an idea, how to simulate the effect of all wagons on the train. I want to change this. Additionally I need a lifting mechanism to get the train on the desired height. Plus I need some better models. They are simple stand-ins. So, still something to do.