CGTalk > WIP > WIP/Critique: 3D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2004, 01:43 PM   #1
daveyt1234
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
help with Maya error - rror: some uvcoordinates are outside 0 and 1 texture space

Hey guys, first time here so apologies if this has already been asked or if im in the wrong place,

im trying to export a model from maya using a custom script, when i go to export it to the ascii file i get the error message

Error: some uvcoordinates are outside 0 and 1 texture space!!

Does anyone know what this means and how i go about solving it??

just as a test i tried exporting a simplpe polygon cube as it appears on the grid when you click the create cube button and i get the above message, any ideas or pointers???


Thanks in advance


David
 
Old 10-30-2004, 09:19 PM   #2
GLMatrix
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveyt1234
Hey guys, first time here so apologies if this has already been asked or if im in the wrong place,

im trying to export a model from maya using a custom script, when i go to export it to the ascii file i get the error message

Error: some uvcoordinates are outside 0 and 1 texture space!!

Does anyone know what this means and how i go about solving it??

just as a test i tried exporting a simplpe polygon cube as it appears on the grid when you click the create cube button and i get the above message, any ideas or pointers???


Thanks in advance


David
All that means is that the the object has UV's placed outside the 0 to 1 area in the UV editor. If you open up your UV editor, you'll see the grid is divided into 4 squares, the one you should be placing your UV's in is the top right ( 0 to positive 1). Anything outside of that will give you the problem.

Last edited by GLMatrix : 10-31-2004 at 04:31 AM.
 
Old 11-01-2004, 08:56 AM   #3
daveyt1234
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by GLMatrix
All that means is that the the object has UV's placed outside the 0 to 1 area in the UV editor. If you open up your UV editor, you'll see the grid is divided into 4 squares, the one you should be placing your UV's in is the top right ( 0 to positive 1). Anything outside of that will give you the problem.

OK, sorry if im being stupid, i opened up the UV texture editor, is this the right one??? it has a grid in it which is kinda devided up into 4 main areas, how do i move the UVs in it????


Again, apologies for stupidity!!

Cheers
 
Old 11-01-2004, 09:08 AM   #4
daveyt1234
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
think ive figured it out, in a hap-hazard way!! thanks for your help


David
 
Old 01-19-2006, 06:00 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.