CGTalk > Software > Lightwave 3D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-27-2004, 03:11 PM   #1
Pancho
Know-it-All
 
Pancho's Avatar
portfolio
Thomas Mangold
Photo Designer
Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 440

Can't open my beloved octopus in layout

In Modeler everything works just fine. Slow, but fine. I've been able to to push my octopus file size from 100mb to 40mb. The model consists of about 100k polygons. If I try to open this file in my scene I get a mesh couldn't be generated error and afterwards an out of memory error. The model is ment for SubD rendering. I'm in deep deep trouble now as I have to finish this image for Friday.

Please give me an idea what I can do. I'm close to a nervous breakdown as I work everyday till 4 a.m. to meet this deadline, but Lw constantly throws some branches betwwen my legs.

Thanks
Thomas

P.S.: After a while nothing happens on screen. Kind of frozen state, while the processor got nothing to do (2%) and there are again 500mb of free RAM available. What the heck is this!?
__________________
It's not easy being green!
 
Old 10-27-2004, 04:09 PM   #2
uncon
There's a new Mexico?
 
uncon's Avatar
portfolio
A.B.
Multimedia Physicist
Molten Pictures LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,449
This is a tough one, and I think we need more information to help out. are you exporting the octopus as a frozen sub-patch model? Is there anyway you can export it as pieces? How many polygons is the object? What are your system specs? What version of LW? etc...

Have you called tech support? They can help you out in cases like this where you are on a tight deadline.
__________________
Aaron
 
Old 10-27-2004, 05:07 PM   #3
Voxel57
Frequenter
 
Voxel57's Avatar
Peter Jespersen
Irrational Number
Beverly, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 138
Send a message via AIM to Voxel57
Hey Pancho, will the model load into LightWave layout as the only item?
I was just wopndering what else you have in your scene.




Peter

Peter Jespersen
3D Project Manager
Newtek
 
Old 01-19-2006, 06:00 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.