CGTalk > Software > The Foundry Modo
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2004, 05:56 PM   #1
Ilustre
New Member
portfolio
Camilo Cunha
Salvador, Brazil
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to Ilustre
Can Modo conect vertices?

Plz help. Modo can conect vertice x vertice or vertice x edge? I´m new at modeling and my firt try was wings3d, wich has this kind of tool (connect). What should I do to get the same results?

2. Does anyone knows a good tutorial about head/ body modeling at MODO ?

thanks for your attention.

Last edited by Ilustre : 10-02-2004 at 09:52 PM.
 
Old 10-02-2004, 09:38 PM   #2
Phil Lawson
Know-it-All
 
Phil Lawson's Avatar
Philip Lawson
Ireland
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 439
Select your first point, then your second. Goto Geometry | Vertex | Join. Accept defualt values.

Cheers
 
Old 10-02-2004, 09:54 PM   #3
SheepFactory
Expert
CGSociety Member
portfolio
x y
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 16,141
you dont have the connect tool in modo yet unfortunately. You have to select the edge slice tool and connect the vertices with that for now.
 
Old 10-02-2004, 09:59 PM   #4
Ilustre
New Member
portfolio
Camilo Cunha
Salvador, Brazil
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to Ilustre
thanks, but the result is not what I want. For exemple: I have a 6 sides poligon and I want to creat 3 four sided polys inside the 6sided ngons. How can I do that?
 
Old 10-02-2004, 10:02 PM   #5
annaleah
Lord of the posts
 
annaleah's Avatar
Anna
Student
UniNY
Praha, Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Lawson
Select your first point, then your second. Goto Geometry | Vertex | Join. Accept defualt values.

Cheers

Or "Join Average".
It welds/connects at a middle point between selected verts.
__________________
 
Old 10-03-2004, 02:03 AM   #6
ambient-whisper
Gone travelling :D
 
ambient-whisper's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Martin Krol
Pixomondo
Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4,631

select 2 or more verts and use the split poly tool. it will connect them like in other apps ( but dont get too wild with your selections, it breaks at times. )
 
Old 10-03-2004, 10:12 AM   #7
BAROBA
Frequenter
 
BAROBA's Avatar
Rob P
3d modeler
Freelancer/student animation
Belgium
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 291
Send a message via MSN to BAROBA
You have to use a tool called Spikey.
It creates all traingles with a common mid point in the center of the 6-gon.
And then you can modify the triangles into quads.
 
Old 10-03-2004, 09:38 PM   #8
CB_3D
Lord of the posts
 
CB_3D's Avatar
C Ferreira
Architecture, Engine, Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 860
I´m a little baffled with this thread? There´s no "Weld" command in Modo?!
__________________

 
Old 10-03-2004, 09:49 PM   #9
ambient-whisper
Gone travelling :D
 
ambient-whisper's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Martin Krol
Pixomondo
Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4,631

if you used wings you would know that connect doesnt mean welding at all. what it does is , you grab a selection of elements and it creates edges between them, that join them.

in modo welding is done through the join command( i think thats the name ). its interactive too.
 
Old 10-04-2004, 03:22 AM   #10
CB_3D
Lord of the posts
 
CB_3D's Avatar
C Ferreira
Architecture, Engine, Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 860
Uups, sorry. Maybe i shouldn´t post too much before actually having Modo...(deeeeemoooo)
__________________

 
Old 10-04-2004, 05:09 AM   #11
ngrava
when did I become a Geek?
 
ngrava's Avatar
Galen Beals
Digital Animation Generalist
Portland, Oregon, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 760
Send a message via Yahoo to ngrava
Yes, also called connect in Max, LightWave (Via DI's poly tools) and XSI. some times called Connect edges too. I don't have Modo so I don't know either but if it follows the old Lightwave naming scheme, it's most likely the "Split" command that was mentioned above.
 
Old 10-04-2004, 07:20 AM   #12
JacquesD
The Grim Reaper
 
JacquesD's Avatar
portfolio
Jacques Defontaine
Freelance Artist
Soignies, Belgium
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 694

Don't know if that's been said but besides the "Join" and the "Join Average", you also have the
"Geometry -> Vertex -> Merge" function just like the one in Lightwave.

The ripper.
__________________
Observation is the key
 
Old 01-19-2006, 11:00 AM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.