CGTalk > Software > The Foundry Modo
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2004, 06:35 PM   #1
DominikSusmel
Frequenter
 
DominikSusmel's Avatar
Dominik Susmel
Croatia
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 118
NVIDIA driver speed issue

Modo is really neat I must confess I hated it frist few tries....but as you uncover things it gets better and better
Apart from trackball rotation which came from HELL (which luckly I found how/where to turn off), one thing bugs me... modo is really slow...
compared to Maya and LW Modeler I use here it is definitively slow... cards in use are GeForce 2 MX, 5950U and 6800... it's not unusable slow, but comared to LW and Maya it is really slow...

since it uses OpenGL, I've tried to turn off VSynch (which usually speeds up things)...but nothing helped
__________________
Introduction to Renderman
 
Old 09-29-2004, 07:26 PM   #2
Steve McRae
vmonkey
 
Steve McRae's Avatar
Steve McRae
Atomworks.com
Calgary, Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 432
there may be something wrong with ur setup

I have found Modo to be MUCH faster than Lightwave with the same model.

LW is not really in the same ballpark when it comes to openGL stuff as Modo and especially Maya.
__________________
Steve McRae
www.atomworks.com
www.vertexmonkey.com - resources for Luxology's modo
 
Old 09-29-2004, 07:30 PM   #3
DominikSusmel
Frequenter
 
DominikSusmel's Avatar
Dominik Susmel
Croatia
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 118
hmm.. setup is not wrong, because it's confirmed on 3 separate computers/setups and one of which is not even my own setup
__________________
Introduction to Renderman
 
Old 09-29-2004, 07:34 PM   #4
Steve McRae
vmonkey
 
Steve McRae's Avatar
Steve McRae
Atomworks.com
Calgary, Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 432
it must be a GeForce issue then . . .
__________________
Steve McRae
www.atomworks.com
www.vertexmonkey.com - resources for Luxology's modo
 
Old 09-29-2004, 07:39 PM   #5
DominikSusmel
Frequenter
 
DominikSusmel's Avatar
Dominik Susmel
Croatia
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 118
quite possibly. Not that GeForce's are bad, quite contrary! it seems that modo's renderer is coded in a way that is not optimized for Geforce cards or something
__________________
Introduction to Renderman
 
Old 09-29-2004, 07:41 PM   #6
Steve McRae
vmonkey
 
Steve McRae's Avatar
Steve McRae
Atomworks.com
Calgary, Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 432
yeah - probably optimized more for the quadro series
__________________
Steve McRae
www.atomworks.com
www.vertexmonkey.com - resources for Luxology's modo
 
Old 09-29-2004, 08:00 PM   #7
kursad_pileksuz
çok oturgaçli götürgeç
 
kursad_pileksuz's Avatar
kursad
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 612
i used modo on geforce 4 4200 , i thoguth it was slow with subd, then i decided to upgrade to an ati card, which is 9800 pro. i am getting good speed for general models. but i have not tried crazy poly numbers
 
Old 09-29-2004, 08:38 PM   #8
Pazur
Frequenter
portfolio
Lukasz Pazera
Visual Artist, Designer
Bialystok, Poland
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 291
Send a message via ICQ to Pazur
modo should be faster then LW in openGL. At least that's how it is on my machine (GF4 Ti 4800). It might be slower if You have Vertex Arrays off and modo switches it off automatically if You have "bad drivers". Possibly You're slow because of the nvidia driver issue. I use 42.51 drivers and it's pretty smooth.
 
Old 09-29-2004, 10:47 PM   #9
Xacto
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
Modo SCREAMS on the mac! It could be your computer config.... (memory, card, ect..)
 
Old 09-29-2004, 11:17 PM   #10
bradpeebler
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 123
The issue is related to the nvidia driver bug. There are speed optimizations in modo that cause the nvidia drivers on GEFORCE cards to crash. NVIDIA is working on a solution already and we communicate with them daily. When this fix is released you should be able to use vertex arrays again which will improve editing performance significantly.

Thanks for your patience.

BP
 
Old 09-30-2004, 12:25 AM   #11
mav3rick
Know-it-All
portfolio
Berislav Kovacic
professional cg animator
Croatia
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 466
Thumbs up

poor Brad.... you must be crazy of answering same thing on hundrets of threads... hope nvidia give out fix so you can sleep tight keep on rocking i already love working in modo. good investment.
__________________
-- --
null studio
-- --
 
Old 09-30-2004, 12:31 AM   #12
DominikSusmel
Frequenter
 
DominikSusmel's Avatar
Dominik Susmel
Croatia
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 118
quick fix: revert to old drivers shame I can't do that since I'm in middle of production sensitive to "Cg" support...damn
__________________
Introduction to Renderman
 
Old 01-19-2006, 10:00 AM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.