Moving from Modeler to Modo...

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

09 September 2004
Smile Moving from Modeler to Modo...

Hello...
I'm a veteran Lightwave user and would like to ask a few things about Modo, which i'm gona get anyway, cause it looks sooooo cool. So, here are some questions:

1. In Modeler i can "group" points and polygons using Surface names, Part names and Sketch Colors for polygons and Point sets for points. Can i do that in Modo?

2. In Modeler, when i have multiple distinguish objects loaded, i can set any one of them as a background object, without moving any object inside the layer stack of another. Does Modo work the same way?

3. Can Modo display multiple textures with alpha channels, one on top of the other?

4. In Lightwave threr's no way i can edit and re-program the mouse buttons and wheel. Can we do this in Modo?

5. Is there a slider for real time blending bettwen various morph targets, like the one we have in Modeler? (through a third party plugin, though). Or any other way for blending different morphs to create new ones, with real time feedback, perferably...

6. In Modo can i paint weight maps using the mouse as a brush? Or can i convert textures (images or LW procudurals) to weight maps?

Well... That's all for now...
Thanks in advance...

Best regards,

09 September 2004
Originally Posted by TrexGreg: 1. In Modeler i can "group" points and polygons using Surface names, Part names and Sketch Colors for polygons and Point sets for points. Can i do that in Modo?
Yes, you can also group sets of layers and parent them together

Originally Posted by TrexGreg: 2. In Modeler, when i have multiple distinguish objects loaded, i can set any one of them as a background object, without moving any object inside the layer stack of another. Does Modo work the same way?