CGTalk > Techniques > Lighting and Shaders
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2002, 01:18 AM   #1
Ech0
Frequenter
 
Ech0's Avatar
portfolio
Charlie B Williams III
Environment Artist
High voltage software
United States
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 251
Send a message via AIM to Ech0 Send a message via MSN to Ech0 Send a message via Yahoo to Ech0
GI rendering with basic max 4.2

i need to know how to acheive a really nice global illumination with using the lights not a render if posible in max. I need to learn how to do it without before i move on i know about three point just how do i get GI without the expensive render .
__________________
vist my site:
http://www.charliebwilliams.com
--------------------------------------------------
 
Old 08-09-2002, 01:46 AM   #2
Chris
Chief time waster
 
Chris's Avatar
portfolio
Chris Williamson
3D / Motion Graphics Artist
Weta Workshop
Wellington, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,411
Max 4.x does not have GI straight out of the box. You can fake it with one of the domelight scripts out there (check www.scriptspot.com) or you can use a third party renderer. Other than that you are just going to have to use a good lighting setup with fill lights, key lights etc etc etc
__________________
--------------------------------
animationsbychris.com
 
Old 08-09-2002, 03:16 AM   #3
Ech0
Frequenter
 
Ech0's Avatar
portfolio
Charlie B Williams III
Environment Artist
High voltage software
United States
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 251
Send a message via AIM to Ech0 Send a message via MSN to Ech0 Send a message via Yahoo to Ech0
cool thanks

i use max at the illinois instittue of art so i knmow theres no GI untill max 5 but i was wondering a way to fake it thanks
__________________
vist my site:
http://www.charliebwilliams.com
--------------------------------------------------
 
Old 08-13-2002, 05:48 PM   #4
Dmitry
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
you can fake it, or you can get vray, and render it with gi...vray is fast and produces farely good results.
 
Old 08-14-2002, 07:50 AM   #5
Gilgamesh
Lord of the posts
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,002
You can use the Lightmesh plugin. It produces lights on the vertexes of an object and changes their color to match that pixel of the material you have assigned to the object. So you can make a skydome, apply a map to it, and then use lightmesh to make a crapload of lights. Make them all cast shadows, and you have fake GI. I forget where to get lightmesh, though. It's out there somewhere.
 
Old 08-14-2002, 07:59 AM   #6
Ech0
Frequenter
 
Ech0's Avatar
portfolio
Charlie B Williams III
Environment Artist
High voltage software
United States
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 251
Send a message via AIM to Ech0 Send a message via MSN to Ech0 Send a message via Yahoo to Ech0
thanks everyone for all your helpful comments

thanks alot really your really helpin me out keep um coming
__________________
vist my site:
http://www.charliebwilliams.com
--------------------------------------------------
 
Old 08-14-2002, 01:23 PM   #7
JuRrAsStOiL
- imbecile -
 
JuRrAsStOiL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 260
Arrow

www.gfx-inside.net (somewhere on the left)
 
Old 08-19-2002, 03:48 AM   #8
juntao
Frequenter
 
juntao's Avatar
portfolio
Anson Hung
3D Artist
Aareas Interactive
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 120
all you need to do is create a dome like this to get decent fake GI
i forgot where i downloaded it from





www.jun-tao.com

Last edited by juntao : 08-19-2002 at 03:51 AM.
 
Old 08-19-2002, 10:37 AM   #9
fred_bock
Veteran
 
fred_bock's Avatar
3d modeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 68
Send a message via ICQ to fred_bock
hey JunTao!! this dome is impresive !!! and the result is also very good, but, how long does it take to render the scene ???
 
Old 08-20-2002, 03:40 AM   #10
juntao
Frequenter
 
juntao's Avatar
portfolio
Anson Hung
3D Artist
Aareas Interactive
Toronto, Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 120
forgot how long that one took..........but i did this one today and it took 2mins 23secs on a PIII 900 384MB


www.jun-tao.com

Last edited by juntao : 08-20-2002 at 04:42 AM.
 
Old 08-20-2002, 04:00 AM   #11
visualboo
virtualpoo
 
visualboo's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Crucean
VFX/CG Sup - Generalist
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,087
Yes like juntao said with the dome light setup. BUT.... dont forget about the fact that light bounces
__________________
Gene Crucean
Arnold Renderer
 
Old 08-20-2002, 03:20 PM   #12
visualboo
virtualpoo
 
visualboo's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Crucean
VFX/CG Sup - Generalist
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,087
Ok, first of all download this plugin (attached) and put that in the plugins dir. *Just pick your favorite computer at the school and install it there *
__________________
Gene Crucean
Arnold Renderer
 
Old 08-20-2002, 03:34 PM   #13
visualboo
virtualpoo
 
visualboo's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Crucean
VFX/CG Sup - Generalist
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,087
play with the "Light every _th". IMO, if that's set to an odd number you will get better results because the lights are placed on the dome staggered like this>



If that number is set to an even number then they will all align straight up and down creating rows.



Bad IMO, unless that's an effect your going for of course.

This is a really basic light setup though.
Hope that helps
__________________
Gene Crucean
Arnold Renderer
 
Old 08-20-2002, 03:37 PM   #14
visualboo
virtualpoo
 
visualboo's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Crucean
VFX/CG Sup - Generalist
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,087
Don't forget to set your bounce lights multiplier pretty low. Play with that setting.

enjoi
__________________
Gene Crucean
Arnold Renderer
 
Old 08-20-2002, 03:59 PM   #15
visualboo
virtualpoo
 
visualboo's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Crucean
VFX/CG Sup - Generalist
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,087
I whipped this scene together in like 2 min so it's far from perfect but should get you started. Just play with stuff>RENDER>play with stuff>RENDER>play with stuff>RENDER. Only way to figure out whats goin on. Play with the size of the domes, play with colors, play with amount of lights (the more the smoother the shadows will be).

btw here's a render from that scene.


with this smaller dome setup>


The scene is attached
__________________
Gene Crucean
Arnold Renderer
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.