CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 08-30-2004, 07:03 PM   #1
Lawsy

Graphics cards

I am pretty new to the whole microsoft computers and widows things, and I don't know what graphics card my PC has and I was wondering how to find out on a computer that runs windows XP home edition 2002. I cannot get Halo to work on my PC, apparently because of my graphics card. I went down to my local PC shop and asked them what graphics card would be the best to buy. He said it depends if your computer is old it might not support the new Nvidia graphics cards and will only run them at half the power, or something. Do you know what specs I would have to have to run the latest graphics cards and my PC. If you do that would be a real help.

- Lawsy

Old 08-30-2004, 08:40 PM   #2
T[iNs]S
Veteran

Go to your control Panel -- System-- Hardware tab -- Device Manager and click on display adapters. This will tell you your graphic card. If your PC is an OEM (HP, compaq, Dell, etc) and is not brand new, there is a good chance you don't have a AGP slot (Accelerated Graphic port). I you don't, I'm sorry to say you will have to forget playing halo on this computer because it will not run any decent 3d card.

Hope this helps

EDIT: I guess a computer with an AGP 4x slot and a good power supply will be able to run any new graphic card.

Old 08-31-2004, 12:44 AM   #3
lots
Lord of the posts

simply right clicking in an empty space on the desktop and hitting properties.. then clicking the settings tab will bring up the video card name and model as well..

Also you need to find out your CPU speed and ammount of ram (just good things to know..) because you will want to be able to match your hardware with the best possible graphics card for your system.. this doesnt always mean the greatest and best thing there is out there..