CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2004, 03:37 PM   #1
Lord of the posts
capone_adam's Avatar
Adam Capone
Game Texture Artist
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 716

For a project I am working on I don't want to spend time rigging a character, I would prefer to spend that time making the character do interesting animation. Is there a character studio funtion for xsi?...I have briefly seen the 'boxman' but is that just a complete no no? there a highly popular definate plug in for xsi? I know its important to rig but my problem with it is you have to be a expert to make a character do crazy jumps and action sequences, I fear with basic rigging skills I will only be able to make the character walk...and also you can't anchor the feet to the ground with a touch of a button right?

Any advice would be really helpful!
Old 07-27-2004, 03:43 PM   #2
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 49
in xsi there is not any character studio, there is a predefined biped rig or quadruped rig, and you can cretae a rig with a proportional rig.
other predefined actions like walk or run , you can pick them from predefined rigs, but other actions like sing, drink, or "make love"( ) you will have to do it yourself.
Old 07-27-2004, 04:35 PM   #3
I miss the NHL.
Ablefish's Avatar
Jean-Paul LeDoux
FX Artist
Vancouver, Canada
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 545
Yeah, check out Get->Primitive->Model->Biped-Guide.

I was also going to tell you about the mocap actions that you can find in the Net view, that you can just drag onto a model created with the biped guide, but there's something funky going on with the feet animation for most of them. Not sure what's going on because I was using some of the mocap data months ago and it was quite usable... Anyone else get strange results?
Jean-Paul LeDoux
Getting Started in XSI
Old 07-27-2004, 11:17 PM   #4
flicker free
alphatron's Avatar
XSI animator
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 781
Send a message via ICQ to alphatron
I've noticed that the v4 Biped Rigs do not play nice with the Netview mocap files. On the other hand, you can access the v3.5 guide and rig via netview, and if you parent the foot control objects under the spine, the mocap works perfectly.
Old 07-29-2004, 01:00 AM   #5
I miss the NHL.
Ablefish's Avatar
Jean-Paul LeDoux
FX Artist
Vancouver, Canada
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 545
Ok, was playing with this a bit today. What you have to do is get the mocap_rig.emdl from the Project Shelf XSI Samples. That one has the legs and whatnot parented correctly to work with the mocap clips in the netview. It's a shame that mocap is setup for the non-standard rig, but oh well.
Jean-Paul LeDoux
Getting Started in XSI
Old 01-18-2006, 08:00 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.