CGTalk > Software > Compositing Software > Adobe After Effects
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2002, 05:21 AM   #1
Moose
New Member
Asher
pixel painter
Australia
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Moose Send a message via Yahoo to Moose
precomp blues

greetings all,

wondering if anyone can help with a small issue i'm having with precomposing.

I have two layers in a precomp and they both use blending modes (overlay and screen). The issue is that when placing the precomp into my main comp, it isn't blending correctly with the main comp's background and any underlying layers...it's results are allready composited onto the generic black background of the precomp. I have tried bringing the background into the precomp and trackmatting it....which works after a fashion, but not really what i'm after.

Is there a way to get the precomp to apply the blending modes in the main comp? thanks in advance
 
Old 07-26-2002, 01:47 PM   #2
anthonymcgrath
Expert
 
anthonymcgrath's Avatar
portfolio
anthony mcgrath
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,696
No unfortunately. any transparency options you work with in compA wont be carried over over when you nest it into compB.

-thinking about it, that would be ultra messy when it came down to using that method in a 80 layer+project of serious comping.
 
Old 07-26-2002, 05:10 PM   #3
beej
plebian ahoy!
 
beej's Avatar
Compositor
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 219
can you use everything else that goes under the blending layers as the pre comp then bring that in under those two layers then use the whole thng as a precomp for the rest of your composite. boy that was confusing as hell. if its only two layers it should be that unmanageable to bring right into the comp...
 
Old 07-26-2002, 11:33 PM   #4
Moose
New Member
Asher
pixel painter
Australia
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Moose Send a message via Yahoo to Moose
Thanks for your replies guys

Quote:
No unfortunately. any transparency options you work with in compA wont be carried over over when you nest it into compB


anthony this is a bit of a bummer...i see that it would get heavy for the app to compute but you would think that it would be an option...get the precomp to only compute its transperancy/blending settings when inserted into the main comp...hehe...that may remove the meaning of the word 'precomp' but anywho...

...a helpful fellow on the dvgarage forum suggested collapsing the transformations on the precomp layer and this seems to be a good workaround...it doesn't look exactly the same as when computed as layers in the main comp....but much better than plain solid without it...

Quote:
if its only two layers it should be that unmanageable to bring right into the comp


beej thanks...i ended up with about 30 layers in the end but with precomping the repetitive ones, it brought that down to around 15. I mainly wanted to precomp these as they were just duplicate layers to boost the intensity of the footage...and i needed to then animate each group of these bits of footage, ie opacity etc...

Last edited by Moose : 07-29-2002 at 12:42 AM.
 
Old 07-29-2002, 08:01 AM   #5
anthonymcgrath
Expert
 
anthonymcgrath's Avatar
portfolio
anthony mcgrath
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,696
fair enough, good to hear you got some acceptable result anyway. You dont fancy puttin a coupla stills up for the cgtalkers to see do ya?
ant
 
Old 08-05-2002, 12:07 PM   #6
Moose
New Member
Asher
pixel painter
Australia
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Moose Send a message via Yahoo to Moose
anthony, sorry it took me a few days to get back.

heres a few frames from the finished comp, mainly around the logo reveal section. There's around 30secs of lawyers talking as per the frame with lawyer head in it. Lawyer head is precomped as most of the text layers also as they had multiple blur effects on them.

__________________
www.osmosis.com.au
 
Old 08-09-2002, 12:33 AM   #7
skidd
Veteran?
Daniel Monguilhott
Freelancer
Daniel Monguilhott
Joćo Pessoa, Brazil
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to skidd
hi!
how u make the glass material on the logo? do you use outside 3D program or be maded using after effects?
__________________
Daniel Monguilhott
danielmonguilhott.com
 
Old 08-10-2002, 05:03 AM   #8
Moose
New Member
Asher
pixel painter
Australia
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Moose Send a message via Yahoo to Moose
Hi Skidd, not sure what glass effect you are reffering to. pls elaborate.
__________________
www.osmosis.com.au
 
Old 08-11-2002, 02:06 AM   #9
skidd
Veteran?
Daniel Monguilhott
Freelancer
Daniel Monguilhott
Joćo Pessoa, Brazil
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to skidd
i'm sorry man, english isn't my native language, so...

in the sequence, the fisrt and second "frame" that u show to us, in the logo reference, at down of this composite, are maked with after effects? or another 3d program?

if you while don't understanding, forget this :]

bye!
__________________
Daniel Monguilhott
danielmonguilhott.com
 
Old 08-11-2002, 05:14 AM   #10
Moose
New Member
Asher
pixel painter
Australia
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to Moose Send a message via Yahoo to Moose
Thumbs down

Daniel, no worries at all

I think you may be referring to the 'lightstorm' effect which reveals the logo..?

You can find a an excellent tutorial for this here
http://www.creativecow.net/index.php?forumid=1 along with a bunch of other tutorials. Its Bill Oneills set of articles about two 2/3 down the page.

The only stuff created in the 3d app was the various objects that resolve in and out as the lawyers are talking throughout. They are all spinning or moving in some way. The rest is all AFX
__________________
www.osmosis.com.au
 
Old 08-11-2002, 05:41 AM   #11
skidd
Veteran?
Daniel Monguilhott
Freelancer
Daniel Monguilhott
Joćo Pessoa, Brazil
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to skidd
thanks moose...

the link that you send is very nice.

see yah!
__________________
Daniel Monguilhott
danielmonguilhott.com
 
Old 01-13-2006, 01:00 PM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.