Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 04-24-2004, 07:51 PM   #1
kyo
Veteran

Send a message via AIM to kyo
script to delete shelf icon quickly .

i have a question .

does anyone out there know of a script that will allow you to ' right click on a shelf icon and delete it off the spot without having to drag it to the trash can all the way in on the top right side, or having to go into the shelf editor and delete it there ? it gets quite redundant and slow .

i'm asking this because i have a script that generates quick selections and puts it on the shelf, which i can conveniently select it but it clutters up the shelf quickly .

it doesnt seem possible that there might be a script for this , but hey , i'm still a newbie . please let me know

ah to make it clearer :

right click and marking menu appear to let you delete off an icon, or holding down a shortcut and click on an icon to delete it .

Old 04-25-2004, 01:18 AM   #2
ktpr
Frequenter

Can you mmb drag them off the shelf and have them delete? I don't remember if that works as well

Old 04-25-2004, 11:07 AM   #3
dwalden74
Google E. Bear

David Walden
Rigging, scripting.
NY, USA

Quote:
does anyone out there know of a script that will allow you to ' right click on a shelf icon and delete it off the spot without having to drag it to the trash can

{
string $shelves[] = `tabLayout -q -ca $gShelfTopLevel`;
for ($shelf in $shelves)
{
string $buttons[] = `shelfLayout -q -ca $shelf`;
for ($b in $buttons)
{
popupMenu -b 3 -p $b;
menuItem -l ("delete " + $b) -c ("deleteUI " + $b);
}
}
}

This will add a RMB menu to every button on every shelf. The RMB menu is added to each button individually, so if you create new buttons, you´ll have to execute the script again to rebuild the menus for the new buttons.

Of course, if you only want to add RMB menus to a *specific* shelf, then you don´t need to cycle through all the other shelves to do it: