CGTalk > Software > Blender
Login register
View Poll Results: We LOVE Blender
I LOVE Blender 6 27.27%
Yes, I do like it very much, so much that I can say I LOVE it 4 18.18%
Well, Blender is one lovely piece of software 9 40.91%
I want to make LOVE to Blender! Make some children with it!!!! 3 13.64%
Voters: 22. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2004, 09:31 AM   #1
Tommi
Lord of the posts
 
Tommi's Avatar
Thomas
Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,359
Smile I LOVE Blender because...

Hehe... since many people are complaining about the fact that this Blender forum on CGTalk seems to be quite dead, I want to setup a fun thread:

Things I LOVE about Blender


I haven't been using Blender for a while, but I started doing my first real steps in 3D and animation from version 1.6 or 1.7 or so... Well... a while ago at least


I love the new interface with its floating windows

I love the possibility of rendering with an external raytracer!!!

I love UNDOS!!!!!

I love the general improvements in editing meshes - the features resemble more and more the ones from professional software packages



So lets all hug each other and LOVE Blender!!!
 
Old 04-22-2004, 06:05 PM   #2
pgregory
Veteran
Project Lead
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 93
Send a message via ICQ to pgregory Send a message via AIM to pgregory
I love Blender because...

It can always amaze me with another neat little feature I never knew about.

It is so damn fast, to load and use.

Every feature request I've submitted has got the response "you can already do that, just..."

Cheers

PaulG
 
Old 04-22-2004, 07:21 PM   #3
Apollux
Highly Inflammable
 
Apollux's Avatar
Juan
Full time Architecture student.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,126
Send a message via MSN to Apollux Send a message via Yahoo to Apollux
Re: I LOVE Blender because...

Quote:
Originally posted by Tommi

I love the possibility of rendering with an external raytracer!!!


Let me give you a sneak preview of the really-close future:
Integrated Renderman support ! (it is already been tested on the CVS version )
__________________
Photography works (portfolio in the making)
www.apollux.smugmug.com
 
Old 04-22-2004, 07:27 PM   #4
Tommi
Lord of the posts
 
Tommi's Avatar
Thomas
Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,359
Yay!!! That's the kind of spirit I wanted to see

Integrated Renderman is awesome, Appolux! Will you post an info here on release?

And pgregory is really right about that "you can already do"... that's kind of weird in the Blender community, but you got to LOVE that
 
Old 04-23-2004, 03:35 AM   #5
Apollux
Highly Inflammable
 
Apollux's Avatar
Juan
Full time Architecture student.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,126
Send a message via MSN to Apollux Send a message via Yahoo to Apollux
About the renderman exporter, here is all that has been officially said on the Developer's Mail List ( http://www.blender.org/pipermail/bf...ril/thread.html )

Quote:
Hi,

I have a patch here soon that uses the yafray exporting code to write out renderman files.
Now I'll need someone to help testing it. Anyone here with renderman experience?

-Ton-


Quote:
I have a little experience with Aqsis and Pixie Ill give her a shot later this afternoon.


Quote:
Hi all,
Below instructions and code as received in today. Apparently the developer didn't yet choose to go for the yafray route (render faces), but he notes it might be interesting to check out later on.

I'd like to get some feedback on it!

Thanks,

-Ton-

--------------------------------------------------------

Here is the source code for the RenderMan export (so far). Find attached the files needed plus two light source shaders which have to
be compiled for the RenderMan compliant renderer you are using. Its tested with 3Delight and AIR.

Here a few things:

1. The YFexport path is used for RenderMan as well. So don't forget to set it ...

2. Meshes do not take normals into account (yet)

3. If meshes have the Subdivision Surface button pressed they are exported as (catmull-clark) subdivision surfaces.

4. NURBS surfaces are exported but not NURBS curves

5. If there are no lights in the scene (or the lights are of type "Area", "Sun", or "Hemi") I use the defaultsurface shader which comes with every RenderMan compatible renderer to render without lights.

6. If the light type is "Lamp" no shadows are generated anyway.

7. If the light type is "Spot" the rendering of (raytraced) shadows is dependend on the Shadow" button in the Render tab. If pressed the spot lights cast shadows, if not, no shadows are calculated ...

8. The render resolution should be taken into account correctly (e.g. 50%)

9. The used renderer is hard-coded at the moment. I have to change that. A user setting would be appreciated ...

I have a Python version which can render meshes with several materials, with vertex colors, and with proper normals. This is the next step but I might have a few questions for you before I implement this features.

Another thing is the usage of lattices etc. because I might go down the YafRay route for that (taking the "struct RE_Render R" into account instead of getting the scene from "extern Global G"). Anyway, here it is. Let me know what the people are thinking about it etc. ...


Please note that all this is still on develpment and is unlikely to make it on time for 2.33
__________________
Photography works (portfolio in the making)
www.apollux.smugmug.com
 
Old 04-23-2004, 07:18 AM   #6
pgregory
Veteran
Project Lead
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 93
Send a message via ICQ to pgregory Send a message via AIM to pgregory
Quote:
Originally posted by Apollux
[B]About the renderman exporter, here is all that has been officially said on the Developer's Mail List ( http://www.blender.org/pipermail/bf...ril/thread.html )

This is all a bit of a shame. I started work on an Aqsis/Renderman integration on Tuhopuu2 recently, because the other Renderman integrations were showing no progress and I needed it sooner rather than later. I have gone down the Yafray route, i.e. proper integration into the rendering pipeline. I've also used a RIB output library, which gives useful things such as proper proven compliant output, which using printing doesn't give, and easy implementation of things like ReadArchive usage.

Along with my work to produce a true integration, another developer (I won't name him in case he doesn't wish to be named here, I'll check) is writing some Renderman shaders that exactly mimic the Blender materials, making it possible to author the comtent completely inside Blender, complete with texturing and materials, and render it in Aqsis.

We are about ready to submit a patch to the Tuhopuu2 mailing list for this, it is just a shame that there are now 2 paths to Renderman support in development.

Cheers

PaulG
 
Old 04-24-2004, 06:00 PM   #7
Apollux
Highly Inflammable
 
Apollux's Avatar
Juan
Full time Architecture student.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,126
Send a message via MSN to Apollux Send a message via Yahoo to Apollux
And who said that only one exporter could exist?

Look at Yafray, we have 3 yafray exporters for Blender.

(and before you even ask: from what I see on the forums, the heave yafray users usually forget about the integrated exporter and go for the Yable-X python exporter).

Let the best renderman exporter to win !!!
__________________
Photography works (portfolio in the making)
www.apollux.smugmug.com
 
Old 05-04-2004, 06:02 AM   #8
mankor
bad news bear
 
mankor's Avatar
Matthew Abdelkoui
glass eater
USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 139
i like this very much..free post effects..and compositor..wow.. along with great 3d tools..even if you dont do 3d with it..It has this great feature for video effects..
http://download.blender.org/documen...html/c8160.html
 
Old 05-05-2004, 06:45 AM   #9
bbirras
beerdrinker
 
bbirras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 226
its not going to be an external export-script, but a fully integratet render-option. just like there are two now internal/yafray...there will be others : aqsis,PRman
in other words MTor for blender
just wait for version 3.0
 
Old 05-21-2004, 10:06 AM   #10
nebcat
New Member
 
nebcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 20
Yafray ROCKS!
 
Old 05-25-2004, 07:24 AM   #11
hanzo
Registered User
portfolio
Assaf hammani
game design
Big shit press
Richmond, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,041
heeha I think blender is ok, but pause you guys are sick, especialy the lady on top, I mean its not a person, a pet, or even a neat paper wait it -- is -- a PROGRAM.

I think you people need to get a life!
 
Old 05-29-2004, 03:20 PM   #12
barter frog
Veteran
 
barter frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 31
coming from the "know-it-all"
__________________
i made a program that crashed once. i put it in my resume and sent it to microsoft.
 
Old 05-30-2004, 07:57 PM   #13
hanzo
Registered User
portfolio
Assaf hammani
game design
Big shit press
Richmond, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,041
no offens, and I don't want to start a war but... YEAH I KNOW IT ALL GET A LIFE, GEEESS...

I just think you guys are taking this a lil to far..

I like render engine integration and game engine reintegration ....

Last edited by hanzo : 05-30-2004 at 08:01 PM.
 
Old 06-07-2004, 10:34 AM   #14
Lourdelle
BlenderGuard
portfolio
Adrien Lourdelle
Effects Technical Director
Mac Guff Ligne
Poitiers, France
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 71
i love Blender and yafray too

blender become a very interesting freeware
__________________
Adrien lourdelle
blender@front.ru
http://Adrien.3dvf.net
 
Old 06-07-2004, 10:58 AM   #15
Okan
Wafer Master
 
Okan's Avatar
Okan Asik
Turkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 253
Send a message via ICQ to Okan Send a message via MSN to Okan
i don't understand one thing...what is this software mania ?
i mean, he loves blender she loves blender so what? who cares ?
if you are gonna use a software, why do you need what other people think about that software..imho, i don't like blender..
maybe you can ask this question about Maya if you are gonna buy Maya but comeon man..it's free..
__________________
" Life is a bitch, then you die "
Freddy Mercury
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.