Lightwave and hardware

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

04 April 2004
Lightwave and hardware

Hey everyone, newbie here, so be gentle.

I've been using Lightwave off and on since version 4, but only recently have gotten seriously back into it. I'm using 7.5c and anxiously awaiting the soon to be released 8, but I digress...

Question I have is with video cards. Soon I'll be in the market for a new machine and I'm more then likely going to go with a dual Xeon system after PCI-E goes mainstream. Now, I read somewhere else someone (forgive me, but I forgot who) said that Lightwave doesn't take advantage of OpenGL or DX enough to reap the benefits of a professional videocard like the Quadro or Fire cards, and that a high end gaming card like the nVidia 5900 or ATi 9800 (or upcoming nVidia 6800) card would be fine. Comments?

I'm not a professional, so cost is an option, but I am planning on finally getting my rear in gear and putting together a demo reel and trying to go mainstream... along with a few thousand other people right?

Anyway, thanks in advance!

Brian

04 April 2004
I'm a modeller mainly, and I use an old Geforce 4 TI ... oh I wanna say 4600 .. Been a while since I've checked hehe. I'm still happy with it. LW doesn't take as much advantage as it could. A faster card might make rotating the model around to look at it smoother, but when you do your basic stuff like rotating or subtracting out stuff, it's cpu based at that point. I'm not sure having a faster card would be much more beneficial for me.

That's just me, i'm sure others will chime in with interesting points of view.

04 April 2004