Painter Drips

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 03 March 2004   #1
Question Painter Drips

Ok, I'm a bit new to painter, i've only used it for a few months. I was just wondering if anyone knew a way to make dripping paint without actually having to draw it. I was hoping to find a brush or brush setting that would allow drips of paint where ever.

Any help would be appreciated.

Old 03 March 2004   #2
Hi,

Liquid Ink

One easy way to create drips or splatters using Painter is to paint them with the Painter 7 or Painter 8 Liquid Ink variants.

To paint a drip, I'd suggest using the Liquid's Smooth Round Nib variant though you may find other Liquid Ink variants you like better. That's the one I like for this purpose.

To paint splatters, use the Liquid's Graphic Bristle variant and tap on the Liquid Ink Layer. You'll need to experiment to get the splatter effect the way you want it, by tapping several times in various areas of the Liquid Ink Layer, and adjusting Brush Size as needed.

To add thickness to your Liquid Ink brushstrokes, in the Layers list, double click the Liquid Ink Layer and adjust the Amount slider. This can be done as many times as you want as long as the Liquid Ink Layer is not converted by you to a Default Layer.

To adjust density of the brushstroke, move the Threshold slider.

Again, experiment with the Threshold and Amount sliders to get the desired effect.

Rowen Dodds' Dodds Ink Splatter Brush and Nozzle

For another kind of splatter, take a look at Rowen Dodds' Ink Splatter Brush. It's a Painter 6 and earlier version brush library (.BRS file) and there's also a Nozzle library (.NZL file). These are available to download in a ZIP file, for either Mac or PC.

Dodds Ink Splatter

After the ZIP file is extracted, place the .BRS and .NZL files in the main Painter application folder.