Color theory advice

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

03 March 2004
Color theory advice

Alright, and I might be going out on a limb here, but I want some advice on where to start if I want to improve my color work. I'm not even sure if thats how to phrase my question really.

My deal is this. I'm an entirely self taught artist who has rode for a long time professionally on my technical skills and my ability to define form and render surface texture well. However, my color work is fairly flat in my opinion and I'm looking for a place to start that gives me a structured way to approach how I work with color.

The best way to elaborate I guess would be to compare a flat drab approach like Splinter Cell against some of Blizzards work. Both are technically sound, however Blizzards work is far more compelling visually. I understand there are a lot of elements that play into this and comparing the two is a bit odd, but I'm abstracting the two art styles out to color choices and composition and I want to know if there are any publications or works that can help me to understand how to work with color to get that more dynamic visual impact.

I hope that made sense, thanks in advance.

-L

03 March 2004
Sorry I can't realy get what you are looking for. Is it this: http://www.colormatters.com/colortheory.html
BTW: you can try to search google.

03 March 2004
most definite