CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk MotionBuilder
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2004, 12:59 AM   #1
LiveFlash
Clifford's avatar rocks!!
 
LiveFlash's Avatar
Nabz
Wannabe artist
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 201
LightWave parent problem for Motionbuilder

Hi guys,

I've been using Lightwave for a while now, but Im new to Motionbuilder 5.1 (downloaded the Demo just the other day).

I've been following j_j's LW to Motionbuilder tutorial and using the pre-made skelegon provided. I've also tried using 3D Dave Skeleton Version 2.1 to get my model ready for Motionbuilder.

However when following the tutorial, J_J says that you need to parent the eyes to the head.. this gave me some super weird ugly results (the eyes got moves really far away from the head), so I deleted the skelegons for the eyes as I've been told that they are not that neccasary for Motionbuilder, but then when I got to next part of parenting the "Left_Leg_Link" and "Right_Leg_Link" I get the same weird ugly result as shown in the attachment!

Any reason Im getting these weird results?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg parent_problem.jpg (14.5 KB, 28 views)
 
Old 03-05-2004, 02:44 AM   #2
RichardHertz
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 58
I do not know if this is your problem but before you parent make sure in Layout "parent in place" is checked. "d" and under general options. See if that helps.
 
Old 03-05-2004, 04:41 AM   #3
3DDave
Lord of the posts
 
3DDave's Avatar
David Spamer
Engineer, Animator, Artist, Teacher
Pixel Dimensions
Granite Bay, USA
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 939
That looks like an issue with weight maps, but your character work looks good so I am guessing you know what your doing so weight maps are probably not the issue.

The left_leg_parent and right_leg_parent are parented to the hip bone. The leftleg and rightleg bones + the leg hierarchy are partented to the hip bone as well. (the left_leg_parent and right_leg_parent are really floater bones and are not needed for MB).

Make sure you have autokey and parent in place on when working in layout. Also don't zero out the rotations of the hip bone or your character won't move when you merge back to Lightwave.

Your also welcome to send me a scene file just replace the character with a null to keep the file small.
__________________
3DDave
 
Old 03-05-2004, 08:07 PM   #4
LiveFlash
Clifford's avatar rocks!!
 
LiveFlash's Avatar
Nabz
Wannabe artist
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 201
Thank you kindly RichardHertz, as your advice was 100% correct.. silly me!

And an even more special thanks to 3DDave for your amazing skelegon 2.1 files.. I've managed to knock out a little walk cycle test animation if you guys want to see it!


and here is the test animation using 3DDave's skeleton 2.1

Just when it was going all prefect, I encountered an annoying problem If you look at the bottom of the guys pants.. something really weird is going on when he walks.. this can be seen better in the attached file. Do any of you guys know why this os happening and how I can fix it?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg leg_problemo.jpg (14.1 KB, 15 views)
 
Old 03-05-2004, 08:20 PM   #5
LFGabel
get busy living...
 
LFGabel's Avatar
Lee Gabel
Dad Screenwriter VFX Artist
Lee Gabel Visual Effects
Victoria, BC, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 737
Send a message via MSN to LFGabel
Most likely the problem is an errant point in the left pant leg in the area of influence of the right legs's bones, and vice versa. just make sure all points for a leg are on one side of the X axis...

Or it could be an errant weight map value for the legs...
__________________
All the best,
Lee Gabel
___
VFX Journal
 
Old 03-05-2004, 09:00 PM   #6
3DDave
Lord of the posts
 
3DDave's Avatar
David Spamer
Engineer, Animator, Artist, Teacher
Pixel Dimensions
Granite Bay, USA
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 939
Nice walk!!!

__________________
3DDave
 
Old 03-06-2004, 06:36 AM   #7
RichardHertz
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 58
I'm glad it worked. Nice job on the walk cycle. It maybe because there is no floor but it looks as if there is a little foot slide. Still a great job on the walk.
 
Old 03-08-2004, 03:25 PM   #8
colkai
Out there somewhere...
 
colkai's Avatar
portfolio
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,935
If I may hijack the thread a little ..
I'm haviong problem with parenting, or something, in MB when loading an object exported from LW.
Normally, in MB, when you assign a motion to a character, you can use the root of that character to rotate/translate an offset from the actual motion skeleton.
However, when I pull in a LW character, I can't do it, the ref just doesn't move.
The character created by characterizing the LW model is set to 'character input' with the skeleton from the motion file being the driver.
I know I'm doing summat wrong / not doing summat, just don't know what!

Here's a grab of my scene browser.
__________________
Gentleshaw Wildlife Centre
 
Old 03-08-2004, 05:55 PM   #9
LFGabel
get busy living...
 
LFGabel's Avatar
Lee Gabel
Dad Screenwriter VFX Artist
Lee Gabel Visual Effects
Victoria, BC, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 737
Send a message via MSN to LFGabel
If the skeleton is driving the character, try moving the skeleton reference instead... just a guess.
__________________
All the best,
Lee Gabel
___
VFX Journal
 
Old 03-08-2004, 10:29 PM   #10
colkai
Out there somewhere...
 
colkai's Avatar
portfolio
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,935
Sorted it.
I 'un-characterized' the model, set the root manually to be the ref brought in from LW, the nre-characterized.
This allows me to rotate & move it. I guess it may be a naming thing - unless the root isn't auto-set - will try to confirm this tomorrow, but even so, at least I know now.
All I have to do is try and remember it for next time!
__________________
Gentleshaw Wildlife Centre
 
Old 03-09-2004, 12:21 AM   #11
LFGabel
get busy living...
 
LFGabel's Avatar
Lee Gabel
Dad Screenwriter VFX Artist
Lee Gabel Visual Effects
Victoria, BC, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 737
Send a message via MSN to LFGabel
Yes, that's it. The reference node is not required to auto-characterize, so if it is named anything other than "reference" and you are not using filtering, it will not be characterized.
__________________
All the best,
Lee Gabel
___
VFX Journal
 
Old 03-09-2004, 10:11 AM   #12
colkai
Out there somewhere...
 
colkai's Avatar
portfolio
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,935
Yeah, I renamed the Null prior to characterizing and it was all fine. One for the memory banks that.
(Though given the way my day is going, that doesn't seem a secure place )
__________________
Gentleshaw Wildlife Centre
 
Old 01-17-2006, 04:00 PM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.