CGTalk > Techniques > Character Rigging
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-28-2002, 11:59 PM   #1
John Lee
Character Animator
 
John Lee's Avatar
John Lee
Actormator
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 328
Send a message via AIM to John Lee
MAYA_RIGGS? Any good????

Hi there

Have you used maya to set up character? In Maya what controls allow
you to have control over your mesh? e.g. can you assign Controller
objects to your bones so that hte CTRL object inherits it's motion
like x y z and h p b ?

John

http://characteranimation.co.uk
 
Old 07-02-2002, 06:33 AM   #2
ME3D
..:/(.:.0.:.)\:..
 
ME3D's Avatar
portfolio
Garry Lewis
Art director
Meggit Defense Systems FATS/Caswell
Atlanta, United States
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 365
Send a message via AIM to ME3D Send a message via Yahoo to ME3D
Yes its great

Im rigging in maya presently and have found it much easier than my days in max. Character studio was good but the bones weren't a good fit for me.
Have had some trouble painting weights around bones. It works with artisan so you can interactively paint weight on the mesh! But due to my current charaters position its not letting me paint all of what I'd like. Any one out there with ideas why?


Otherwise the controls are really easy to set and predefined actions are made in a matter of minutes. Eyes opening closing etc....
__________________
:::Rust never sleeps:::
:::Maya 5 Fundamentals:::
 
Old 07-08-2002, 11:37 AM   #3
pushingpixels
New Member
Animator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 13
I think an image of your character (in bind pose) would be a help to figure out what the problem could be. Are u using nurbs, poly or subd?

But i had problems in the past with painting weights on a poly mesh. I didn't layout my uv's properly. That was sorted after mapping the character in a proper way....
 
Old 07-08-2002, 06:10 PM   #4
ME3D
..:/(.:.0.:.)\:..
 
ME3D's Avatar
portfolio
Garry Lewis
Art director
Meggit Defense Systems FATS/Caswell
Atlanta, United States
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 365
Send a message via AIM to ME3D Send a message via Yahoo to ME3D
Figured mine out

Ahhhhhhhh! So good to know its figured out.
When binding my charcter I left the influence to a default of 4 (for weight). And never could add more weight painting outside of the range this set.
I could only paint out influence.
Now I'll have to remember to play with the influence at the time of binding in order to get it to over lap some but not so much as to jump over to the rest of the body. Just got it last night!!!!
__________________
:::Rust never sleeps:::
:::Maya 5 Fundamentals:::
 
Old 01-13-2006, 10:00 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.