CGTalk > Development and Hardware > Graphics Programming
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2004, 12:43 PM   #1
stoo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 53
Maya: Adding second color per vertex

Hi all,

The artists at work wish to be able to modify their prelit scenes by tweaking vertex colors. However, if they move a light or re-light the scene for whatever reason, they would like the color tweaks to remain intact.

To do this, I'd like to be able to store a second color per vertex (or even a "tweak" delta value). Although I can use the Maya UI to add a vector attribute per vertex, and can do a similar thing through script, I'd ideally like to do this in a plugin. I also need some way of altering the rendered vertex color based on this extra tweak color.

Well, I hope that makes sense to someone, and thanks for any ideas you can chuck this way.

cheers,
stoo
 
Old 02-03-2004, 02:08 PM   #2
playmesumch00ns
Lord of the posts
 
playmesumch00ns's Avatar
render monkey
pretty picture maker
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,420
Look up blind data and dynamic attributes in the developer giude, and there's more than one source code example in the dev kit. Basically the plug-in version of what you can do with MEL AFAIK
__________________

You can have your characters photoreal, fast or cheap. Pick two.
 
Old 02-04-2004, 12:45 PM   #3
stoo
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 53
Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I've had a look through the dynamic attribute and blind data documentation, and played around with the blind*DataCmd examples. I can happily add a new attribute per node, but am having trouble actually adding the data per vertex. Is there something obvious I'm missing (normally there is)?

Thanks,
stoo
 
Old 02-04-2004, 01:41 PM   #4
playmesumch00ns
Lord of the posts
 
playmesumch00ns's Avatar
render monkey
pretty picture maker
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,420
Well for per-vertex stuff I guess you just add an array attribute with the same number of elements as vertices...
__________________

You can have your characters photoreal, fast or cheap. Pick two.
 
Old 01-17-2006, 09:00 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.