Heavy simple script

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

Old 05 May 2014   #1
Post Heavy simple script

Hi every body ... I'm new to rigging, having some issues & hoping if some one could help

I'm working on a project where I wanted to limit the position of a group of controllers with the position of another movable controllers so I used this script in a float script

Range = #(r1,r2,r3,r4,r5,r6,r7,r8)
ctrl = #(ctrl1,ctrl2,ctrl3,ctrl4,ctrl5,ctrl6,ctrl7,ctrl8)
for n=1 to 8 do
(
ctrl[n].pos.controller.zero_pos_xyz.controller.x_position .controller.upperlimit = (mult*range[n])+(xupper.position[1]-ctrl[n].parent.position[1])-1
ctrl[n].pos.controller.zero_pos_xyz.controller.x_position .controller.lowerlimit = (xlower.position[1]-ctrl[n].parent.position[1])-(mult*range[n])+0.5
ctrl[n].pos.controller.zero_pos_xyz.controller.y_position .controller.lowerlimit = (ylower.position[3]-ctrl[n].parent.position[3])-(mult*range[n])+2
)
centr.pos.controller.zero_pos_xyz.controller.x_pos ition.controller.upperlimit = (mult*r9)+(xupper.position[1]-centr.parent.position[1])-1+7
centr.pos.controller.zero_pos_xyz.controller.x_pos ition.controller.lowerlimit = (xlower.position[1]-centr.parent.position[1])-(mult*r9)+0.5+12.5
centr.pos.controller.zero_pos_xyz.controller.y_pos ition.controller.lowerlimit = (ylower.position[3]-centr.parent.position[3])-(mult*r9)+2+3

The ISSUE here is this made my scene heavy .... I think that this is because the script is evaluated so many times in each second & now I'm trying to use a timer but i can't get the hang of it ....
This simple timer ..

fn x =
(
timer clock interval:1000
on clock tick do print "m"
)

throws me this error ...

-- Error occurred in anonymous codeblock; filename: ; position: 72; line: 5
-- Syntax error: at ), expected while
-- In line: )

ANY SUGGESTIONS .....
Thanks in advance

Old 05 May 2014   #2