Reel advice needed...

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

01 January 2004
Reel advice needed...

Hi all,

Well I have decided it's about time I move on from my present company and so while over Xmas I started putting a demo reel together. It's currently about 45secs long at 15Mb low/medium quality...

This brings me onto the reason for posting it here, it's by no means finished as I am not 100% confident about the reel, more like about 70% so was wanting valuable feedback. I currently work in the (UK) education sector and previous experience was the aviation field. I would like to remain in the education sector for the time being as the games industry just won't pay enough plus the fact I don't have any materials to blow the games co's socks off.

Sorry for the yarn bit but if at all possible could you list :-

what you liked/disliked ???
what and how would you change it ???

and any other comments please feel free to pass them on so I can get my conifdence levels up above the 70 mark.

Cheers

sAm

PS. A preview of what is included in the reel :-

Website
Life in Black and White

01 January 2004
Is there a link to view your reel at?
VFX Journal

01 January 2004
Thanx for the reminder, d'oh !!!

http://www.plop.info/site/reel/reel_med.avi

Click Right Save as...

cheers

Website
Life in Black and White

01 January 2004
I'm sure you know this, but only show your best work on your reel. It looks like you are are making a modeling reel. Here's some general comments.

- Some of the shots seem overly long. I'd keep it 3-5 seconds max for each of the clips. Keep your reel moving.
- Have you thought about adding music? I know some people just shut off the music, but if your reel is edited to a catchy piece, it can enhance it.
- Open and close your reel with your best work, and place the rest in the middle.

My 2...
VFX Journal

01 January 2004