CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2013, 10:31 PM   #1
oreanimate
PRO
 
oreanimate's Avatar
portfolio
Michael Ore
NGTV
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to oreanimate
Lightbulb Hypershade question (grouping? and slow)

I was curious if there was a "grouping" feature in the Hypershade? I am working in a larger scene with many materials and although I have named things appropriately it takes a while to find the material I am looking for. I was hoping there would be something where you could select, lets say all the materials for something like a table and then group these into a "table" group? If there wasn't something like, Alias should seriously consider it, would be great.

One more question. in this larger scene I do have roughly 15 lights, when switching tabs in the hypershade, it takes ungodly long to load these lights, is there a patch or something that can be done to speed this up?

Thank you very much
 
Old 09-24-2013, 07:24 AM   #2
Schempp
Know-it-All
portfolio
Eric Schempp
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 323
Yes, there is an option to create an asset. this will put the shaders in a sort of expandable and collapsable conatiner.

Select the shaders you want to create an asset from and go to the edit menu in the hypershade, then create asset. those will pop into that one and all the asset nodes will be visible under the Asset nodes tab. ofcourse you can also rename them to make it clear whats inside.

hope this helps!.
__________________
Voxels for dinner.
_____________
http://esvfx.wordpress.com/ maya vfx blog
 
Old 09-24-2013, 09:09 AM   #3
3Dmonkey
Frequenter
Mark
New Zealand
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 182
There are also the bins (the tab behind the create panel).
It works *okay*....
 
Old 09-24-2013, 08:01 PM   #4
oreanimate
PRO
 
oreanimate's Avatar
portfolio
Michael Ore
NGTV
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to oreanimate
Thank you for the tips, I will try them out today. Appreciate the help!
 
Old 09-24-2013, 08:01 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.