Undeground Train Station (WIP)

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

07 July 2013
Undeground Train Station (WIP)

My name is Liam Kirkman, I am an Animation graduate which is where I first learnt Maya. I have been out of Uni for a year now and with not much look finding CG jobs. I partly lack confidence in my work so to fix that I decided to make more and better work.

My current project revolves around an underground train station. I liked this concept mainly for the potential with the lighting and texturing which are 2 areas I need to improve most to secure a great 3D Artist job. Other than the main idea everything else was a bit of a montage of different cities and styles of stations.

I have noticed that the tile texture is a bit overused especially in the tunnel. I still like the idea of the tile'd tunnel but it needs breaking up with something but i am not sure what?

I would greatly appreciate any feedback on this project and will post updates and show the improvements

07 July 2013
One thing which might be handy to break up the tiled areas a bit, would be a few signs, advertising movies, public services, whatever. Maybe timetables.
It might also be worth softening the lines between the tiles somewhat. Right now they look a little sharp at the edges.
I'm not sure how you've done your tiles texture, but you also might try adding a few tiles here and there which are slightly different shades. Not a lot of difference, but a tile which is say 5% lighter in tone, and a short distance away one which is 3% darker. It'll help break up the computer perfect feel of the textures.

07 July 2013
Thank you Pagrin for the suggestions. I haven't posted it just yet but I do have some lights which now run down the tunnel which help that particular section. But yes the rest of the tiles does probably need a bit of variation with it.