New guy with an arm... O-o...

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

07 July 2013
Question New guy with an arm... O-o...

Hello everyone. I'm new here, first post and all. Anyway, I'm a programmer by nature, and consider myself to only be decent in the art aspect. As of recently, I've gotten my hands on an oculus rift (3d virtual reality headset with head tracking) and have been starting work on a virtual glove to put your arm in 3d space with the oculus rift.

As such, I need some arms, and since I'd rather not use someone else's stuff to show off my own work, I've started on an arm that will eventually be rigged, and controlled by this glove/armature hardware I'm working on.

So far I'm feeling decent with it, but the hand looks off. One of those offs I don't know how to fix. I think there are two possibilities, either the thumb is somehow off, or the hand is rotated 90 degrees from how it should be on the y axis. I should also mention this is in blender. I've also got a smooth modifier on (450 faces without smoothing, 28997 from the smoothing). I'm fairly new to blender(started semi-active about a month ago), and I've only done basic props before now. So this is my first "character", so don't be too harsh. (I can take constructive criticism just fine though, since I use to draw all the time, so don't be too nice either)

Anyway, here's the arm so far.

I'm fairly certain it's the rotation of the hand in relation to the arm. But I'm not sure, so I figured I'd ask people with much more knowledge then myself.

I'm also not sure this should be here or in the anatomy forum. T_T Anyway, help would be appreciated.

Sorry for rambling (I tend to ramble... a lot.)

07 July 2013
Hi CaliberMengsk,
It is a pretty nice beginning ! And your working on virtual glove seems very interesting !