Help Needed for Demo Reel Creation!

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

06 June 2013
Help Needed for Demo Reel Creation!

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the forum, and I've heard this is a great resource for opinions and critiques. Forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong section, but this was the closest match I found for what I'm inquiring about. I graduated 3D for Production about 3 years ago and have had little luck finding a job in the industry. One of the jobs I got actually took me in a different direction I found passion in: level design / game design. I am quite passionate about games and see the quality in games that are missed/replaced with graphics that today's hardware can handle. Half-Life 2 for example is completely linear, however it is designed so well, you are never bored or feel lead-by-the-hand because of the great techniques they use.

I would really like to focus my time for the next year on designing a demo reel centered around level design, and would like to know everything I should be focusing on, not focusing on, from the ground up. For Example: Would an environment with lighting, geometry, and contrast without being (fully) textured, and asset-populated suffice? Or do potential employers look for a complete level design, with enemies and game mechanics in place?

I am really trying to find the right path for planning/following through on creating an excellent demo reel. The tools I use (and feel very comfortable with) are 3D Studio MAX, Unity3D, After Effect, and Photoshop. If anybody could give me some advice that could help me find my way, I would be eternally grateful.

Thanks in Advance and Best Regards,

Jeff

06 June 2013