CGTalk > General Techniques > Modeling
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 06-12-2013, 07:33 PM   #1
adecoy95
portfolio
USA

i need beginners advice

i am really new to 3d modeling in general, (as well as 2d sketching stuff), just new in general, and i have been trying to model a sorta smooth cartoony face in maya for a while now, but i keep getting hung up in the beginning details, i have been using various tutorials and such, mainly the box modeling technique, but i am having a really hard time understanding some of the basic facial feature stuff they are talking about, like adding a line for the nose and moving the vertices properly and such to aline for the cheek around the side.

im rambling a bit it seems, basically, i am worried i do not have the basic fundamentals when it comes to understanding anatomy and such, i have a pretty good idea how to use the modeling tools in maya, but i lack any real artistic focus or talent it seems, and was hoping someone might be able to point me in the right direction to get a good grasp of exactly what i am doing in the concept area.

let me know if this is making any sense or not

Old 06-12-2013, 10:58 PM   #2
Psyk0
Freelance chacha teacher

portfolio
Patrick Boisvert
3D / 2D Artist
Soldak Entertainment
Quebec, Canada

Send a message via MSN to Psyk0
Your problem could be technique related? i know i used to have a hard time using the box modeling approach. I preferred to lay down my loops poly by poly, so maybe give that a try:

http://www.3dtotal.com/ffa/tutorial...ofarc/head1.php

All beginners need to train anatomy knowledge in order to improve. Talent is something that comes with practice, it's not a skill you are born with...or at least a pretty rare occurence. Checkout PDF books by Loomis since they are free and a good starting point.

Old 06-18-2013, 01:07 AM   #3
adecoy95
portfolio
USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Psyk0