Body Part Position Not Holding to Keys

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2013
Body Part Position Not Holding to Keys

Hey there,

I'm new to MotionBuilder and animation in general. I'm working on a game project that I'm currently creating animations for and it has been a learning experience, but I'm running into little issues that I believe are complete user error so I need some input.

I am creating idle poses for each weapon the player will be using. Each pose is animated onto one frame out of 46 total frames. For example frame 0 is a rifle and frame 33 is the pose for holding a chainsaw. I set a full body key frame onto each frame as I complete the pose, but when I modify the left arm of certain poses it subsequently moves that arm of the character a few inches off on every frame. So I have to go back through and reset the arm back into its proper position, which in turn moves the arm on the latter frames and creates and endless cycle. Why is this happening? I have each frame keyed so the rig should be locked into that pose and should never be changed by editing another frame.

A bit more random information: I put these poses on its own animation layer. The Base Animation layer is a t-pose because at the time I planned on adding a run/walk cycle to it. As I learned the program more I think that might not even work out or be necessary so I'm bringing this up in case this is for some reason the issue. If it is, how do I move my poses to the Base Animation layer?

Try not to cringe too hard at my noobish techniques. Thanks in advance!

06 June 2013