CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2013, 08:41 AM   #1
ShaunAnsari
Frequenter
 
ShaunAnsari's Avatar
portfolio
Shaun A
Creative Director
Second Sense
Karachi, Pakistan
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 172
Flickering Lights

Greetings All

Im currently working on an Ident for our graduation exhibition here in Melbourne. Now the concept ive pitched (and has been accepted) is these elongated boxes with little lights at each side (spotlights) Now the idea is as the camera pans around these names line up assemble and disassemble to form each of the 22 student names. So playing a bit with camera and the lights and form here.

The problem:
The lights are flickering and I don't know whats causing it to flicker, im suspecting its the mo-graph cloner that's linked to the problem.

This is the 30 second WIP render where you see the flickering in the background and on the names in a dissembled state. (I want these little lights to stay on as its part of my theme of form)

(Lights during dissembled state are at 250%)
(lights during the assembled state are at 500%)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9bwuhfwo5...cept%20V0.1.mov

Excuse the audiojungle audio audio / watermark this is a test video

here are some of the models out of scene






Any help on this will be greatly appreciated
Thank you in advance

Shaun
 
Old 05-23-2013, 09:46 PM   #2
vid2k2
Expert
 
vid2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,604
Have you considered selecting the end polys of the rods
and a applying a luminous texture instead of spots ?
__________________
David

iMac 3.06 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo / 16 GB / OS 10.9.5 / C4D StudioR12 / CS6

R.I.P. 11.02.11 ... my dear friend .
 
Old 05-23-2013, 10:51 PM   #3
Donovan Keith
PRO
 
Donovan Keith's Avatar
Donovan Keith
Animator / Teacher / TD
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 196
Without seeing your scene file I can't be sure, but it looks like an anti-aliasing issue to me. From what I can tell the lights (and/or what they're lighting) are so small that they are sometimes smaller than a pixel, which means Cinema sometimes misses them when rendering a frame.

Try:
Render Settings > Anti-Aliasing > Geometry -> Best
If that doesn't fix it, up your min/max values to something like Min: 4x4 and Max: 8x8.

That said, a luminous polygon texture and the glow filter in After Effects might be your best bet for this style (you'll still need to render with high AA though).
 
Old 05-24-2013, 02:14 AM   #4
ShaunAnsari
Frequenter
 
ShaunAnsari's Avatar
portfolio
Shaun A
Creative Director
Second Sense
Karachi, Pakistan
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by vid2k2
Have you considered selecting the end polys of the rods
and a applying a luminous texture instead of spots ?


Well the deal that I run into is with a luminous texture I have to crank up the texture uber high for it to reach my target look so that failed it was really the first line of action for me
 
Old 05-24-2013, 05:13 AM   #5
Per-Anders
helper bunny
 
Per-Anders's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Per-Anders Edwards
Developer
The Third Party
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 12,708
Do you mean set the resolution of yoru texture really high? I'm not really seeing why/how. Could you post an image showing how you want it to look (fake it in photoshop if you need to), because for those end points I'd expect you to simply drop on either a gradient or just a flat color.
__________________
The Third Party | Homepage | My Reel
"You need to know what you're doing before you start, and to start because you need what you're doing."
 
Old 05-24-2013, 05:46 AM   #6
ShaunAnsari
Frequenter
 
ShaunAnsari's Avatar
portfolio
Shaun A
Creative Director
Second Sense
Karachi, Pakistan
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Per-Anders
Do you mean set the resolution of yoru texture really high? I'm not really seeing why/how. Could you post an image showing how you want it to look (fake it in photoshop if you need to), because for those end points I'd expect you to simply drop on either a gradient or just a flat color.


Ok ill just get onto that ^^
 
Old 05-24-2013, 09:04 AM   #7
imashination
Expert
 
imashination's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew ONeill
3D Fluff
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8,793
Not a solution to your problem, but if youd like to even out your light distribution so they dont clump up on the dotted I's, set the cloner distribution to step.
__________________
Matthew O'Neill
www.3dfluff.com
 
Old 05-24-2013, 10:07 AM   #8
littledevil
Meh
 
littledevil's Avatar
portfolio
Ferdinand
Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 616
it is more a logical, than an anti aliasing problem. raising the AA min step size will only
help you to a certain point and it will also also do actually do the opposite of what you
might be expecting, it will make the visible pixels darker (as with increasing step size
more and more black pixels will blend with one white pixel).

the core of your problem ist that you expect your lights to work like pixels, or in other
words be view distance and projection independent. but c4d does not work that way,
it is vector based and an objects representation in a perspective projection will scale
with its distance to the camera. textures won't fix that problem either, or specifically
will be even more inaccurate, as the add their resolution on top of the problem.

a pretty simple solution could be:

1. only clone nulls in your cloner
2. create a xpresso setup
3. for each frame:
3.2 for each clone in the cloner create a particle with pborn and the lifetime of one frame
2.3 get the distance from the particle position to the render camera
2.4 range map that value into the particles size

make sure you use a spherical shape as the particle shape like a parametric sphere
(uncheck perfect) or a spherical vol light. irregular shapes like a cone in your picture
do not help.

the solution is not perfect and you might need different setups for different shots/
camera angles, as the min max parameter of the range map node will be the size of
your object, which again is heavily view dependent when you expect it to be in the
projection static.

you could of course do more fancy things in python.
 
Old 05-24-2013, 10:39 AM   #9
littledevil
Meh
 
littledevil's Avatar
portfolio
Ferdinand
Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 616
too lazy to explain in in detail, same approach but plain mograph. use a plain effector
centered to the cameras local space with a fall of covering the the 'whole' scene. you
can then animate/set the size multiplier so that the objects fit your projection. make
sure to use a very high AA max step size and a very low AA threshold.

i overdid it a bit in my example, the 'pixels' in the background are actually bigger than
the one in the foreground.

http://i.imgur.com/Pcza8iH.gif
 
Old 05-24-2013, 10:39 AM   #10
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.