CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2013, 07:40 AM   #1
Oli4D
Know-it-All
 
Oli4D's Avatar
portfolio
Oliver Schmid
3D Artist and AnimationMentor.com graduate
-
Bonstetten, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 440
Send a message via MSN to Oli4D
X-Ray Shader, need some help

Hello everybody

I try to create some kind of X-Ray look on a model.
I tried with a Fresnel but that is not really what I would like to achieve.
Let me explain on a simple cube:

The result should be that the edges of the cube (or whatever model) are visible (maybe like glowing edges), but the rest of the model should be fully transparent.

With Fresnel, I can't achieve that because it's always also shading the surfaces to some degree, depending on the viewing angle.

But what I want is to make only the edges visible.

Any ideas how this can be done in CINEMA 4D?

P.S. the attached poor Photoshop example should show you what I would like to get
Attached Images
File Type: jpg edges.jpg (43.9 KB, 32 views)
__________________
CINEMA 4D Studio 16, ZBrush 4 R6, Adobe CC
Win 7 Pro 64, Intel i7 980 3,33GHz, 12 GB RAM, GTX 570
, Wacom Intuos4 M

Last edited by Oli4D : 05-22-2013 at 07:44 AM.
 
Old 05-22-2013, 08:02 AM   #2
celke
PRO
portfolio
Carsten Elke
Switzerland
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 110
Hi,

You can use a S&T-mask in Photoshop. Together with some gradients you get a very nice result.

cheers

celke
 
Old 05-22-2013, 08:14 AM   #3
jumamu
Frequenter
portfolio
Juha M
Oulu, Finland
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 115
http://vimeo.com/55435837 <-here's how you can generate edges with c4d. But in your case you should use it in your alpha channel + some glow effect in post processing or directly inside C4D.

But you can also use sketch and toon

EDIT: and you can also use Atom array for generate the edges

Last edited by jumamu : 05-22-2013 at 08:25 AM.
 
Old 05-22-2013, 08:27 AM   #4
xdennisx
PRO
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 196
AO shader with inverted colors inside the alpha channel?
 
Old 05-22-2013, 09:02 AM   #5
Oli4D
Know-it-All
 
Oli4D's Avatar
portfolio
Oliver Schmid
3D Artist and AnimationMentor.com graduate
-
Bonstetten, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 440
Send a message via MSN to Oli4D
Quote:
Originally Posted by xdennisx
AO shader with inverted colors inside the alpha channel?


Well AO is not really doing the same thing as far as I know, but still it could maybe ad some interesting effects, nice idea.
__________________
CINEMA 4D Studio 16, ZBrush 4 R6, Adobe CC
Win 7 Pro 64, Intel i7 980 3,33GHz, 12 GB RAM, GTX 570
, Wacom Intuos4 M
 
Old 05-22-2013, 09:13 AM   #6
Oli4D
Know-it-All
 
Oli4D's Avatar
portfolio
Oliver Schmid
3D Artist and AnimationMentor.com graduate
-
Bonstetten, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 440
Send a message via MSN to Oli4D
Quote:
Originally Posted by celke
You can use a S&T-mask in Photoshop. Together with some gradients you get a very nice result.


Hello Carsten
I'm not sure if I understood you correctly. Do you maybe have an example you could show us?
__________________
CINEMA 4D Studio 16, ZBrush 4 R6, Adobe CC
Win 7 Pro 64, Intel i7 980 3,33GHz, 12 GB RAM, GTX 570
, Wacom Intuos4 M
 
Old 05-22-2013, 10:50 AM   #7
celke
PRO
portfolio
Carsten Elke
Switzerland
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 110
Hi Oliver,

Very quickly in my lunch break:



The Photoshop file was too big. I would use different S&T layers, so you can blend in the parts of interest and hide the others. I hope this was helpful.

cheers

celke
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TorchS&T.jpg (28.3 KB, 237 views)
 
Old 05-22-2013, 01:22 PM   #8
Oli4D
Know-it-All
 
Oli4D's Avatar
portfolio
Oliver Schmid
3D Artist and AnimationMentor.com graduate
-
Bonstetten, Switzerland
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 440
Send a message via MSN to Oli4D
Quote:
Originally Posted by celke
Hi Oliver,

Very quickly in my lunch break:



The Photoshop file was too big. I would use different S&T layers, so you can blend in the parts of interest and hide the others. I hope this was helpful.

cheers

celke


Ah got it, thanks for the image. Always much more easy to understand what somebody means with an image rather than with words.
Yeah this might work in my case. Have to learn Sketch and Toon then... not really experienced with that yet ^^
__________________
CINEMA 4D Studio 16, ZBrush 4 R6, Adobe CC
Win 7 Pro 64, Intel i7 980 3,33GHz, 12 GB RAM, GTX 570
, Wacom Intuos4 M
 
Old 05-22-2013, 03:29 PM   #9
xdennisx
PRO
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 196
Left one shows the AO shader inside the alpha channel, right side uses proximal. Of course S&T gives you way more options.
 
Old 05-22-2013, 04:19 PM   #10
NWoolridge
Expert
 
NWoolridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 710
I'm partial to using material fog for xray effects; its much more realistic than fresnel:



Fog on the left, fresnel on the right.

It can be used with ambient occlusion to give a density based effect with edges:



File
 
Old 05-23-2013, 01:09 AM   #11
LucentDreams
lover of gophers
 
LucentDreams's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Kai Pedersen
Lighting Lead
Double Negative
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,374
nice examples nick.


I was also going to recommend sketch and toon but with thicker lines and then transparency from edge so that you can get a glowing line like your blue cube straight out of render. Sorry i can't make an example for a couple hours as I don't have C4d in front of me.
__________________
Quote:
"Until you do what you believe in, how do you know whether you believe in it or not?" -Leo Tolstoy
Kai Pedersen
 
Old 06-01-2013, 03:49 PM   #12
lewisrowe
Imagery for brands
 
lewisrowe's Avatar
portfolio
Lewis Rowe
3D Artist
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 190
Oli4D, for your cube example how about White Lights plugin? http://www.tools4d.com/?page_id=3078
It renders nice neon/xray glowing lines. lots of different looks. nice controls for size, style, brightness exposure etc.
It works with splines so you would simply select your chosen poly edges and go Mesh>Commands>Edges to splines. Even for a complex mesh

Easy. and no compositing renders required.


Nice example by the way NWoolridge! - thats a new technique on me.

Last edited by lewisrowe : 06-01-2013 at 03:52 PM.
 
Old 06-01-2013, 03:49 PM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.