CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 05-10-2013, 03:48 AM   #1
drhaire
portfolio
USA

advice needed

Hello everyone, I am very new to computer graphics meaning that I know hardly anything except for because interfaces and concepts from some limited research. My problem is that I am not familiar with programming, coding, developing, or computer graphics but have developed a high interest in it recently.

What sparked my interest was a game that I play called League of Legends and I have been looking everywhere I can to find information about modding character skins from the game. This is done frequently and available for download but I would like to do it personally for myself and my desires.

I have no idea where to start however, but have downloaded softimage xsi mod tool which I believe is a fairly old program. I do not have a lot of money to spend and that is why I went this route. Do any of you veterans have some advice on what it is I need to be looking at in order to import a skin file into a graphics program, mod the color, particles, and animations, then export it back into a program which places it in my game???

Thank you for any help

P.S. I hope this complies with the forum rules. Due to my lack of knowledge and vocabulary in the realm of graphic design I do not know any other way to ask this question or go about searching for my answer.

Last edited by drhaire : 05-10-2013 at 08:30 PM.

Old 05-10-2013, 11:42 PM   #2
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X

CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia

Your post and where it's posted are perfectly fine, don't worry, no rules broken, but you might not get a lot of bites on this.

Generally I/O (input/output) is determined by whatever the engine/platform supports, and you're shooting for one probably most people haven't worked with.