CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2013, 02:55 PM   #1
Intenditore
PRO
 
Intenditore's Avatar
portfolio
Anri Orlow
Russia
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 71
3ds Max - trajectory editing

Hi there!
I use 3ds max an I have a pretty big problem. Unlike many other programs such as Maya, C4D, After Effects it's impossible to edit motion trajectory. You can reposition keys, but you can't edit trajectory as a bezier spline or anything similar. In Maya there's a tool called Editable Motion Path, in Cinema 4D you can simply edit animation trajectory, in After Effects (of cource, it's not a 3d softaware, but close) you can edit trajectory right in viewport too and than edit acceleration in graph editor, in 3ds max... .... ???
Is there any plug-ins, scripts, any solution to add this functionality to 3ds max? Please?.. (don't tell me about Path constrain please, I know it, but it's not easy, not efficient, not flexible...)
It seems to me I start to understand why animators dislike Max
 
Old 05-06-2013, 03:24 PM   #2
spacefrog
Frog of the posts
 
spacefrog's Avatar
Josef Wienerroither
Freelance
Vienna, Austria
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,437
It's not as powerfull and flexible as in the other packages you mention, but you can switch your keyframed animation path to in viewport editing:
Head over to the motion panel, press the "Trajectories" toggle button and enable the "Subobjects" button above (be sure that "Keys" active in the dropdown). Now you can select your keyframes in the viewport and manipulate them with the usual transform tools Move/rotate/scale
__________________

PowerPreview: High Quality Nitrous Previews for 3ds Max 2012|2013|2014

[ Free Download (ScriptSpot) ]

Home of The Frogs | Online Portfolio
 
Old 05-06-2013, 03:49 PM   #3
Intenditore
PRO
 
Intenditore's Avatar
portfolio
Anri Orlow
Russia
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 71
Thanks. Yes, I know this functionality but it's not enough. Only one problem - we have no any bezier-handles on those keys.
 
Old 05-09-2013, 10:36 PM   #4
Intenditore
PRO
 
Intenditore's Avatar
portfolio
Anri Orlow
Russia
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 71
So, isn't there any solution at all???
 
Old 06-23-2013, 06:58 PM   #5
Intenditore
PRO
 
Intenditore's Avatar
portfolio
Anri Orlow
Russia
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 71
Any solution?..
 
Old 06-24-2013, 12:42 PM   #6
sidvici
Frequenter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 202
2 solutions: Use curve editor or change package.
 
Old 06-25-2013, 04:41 AM   #7
slebed
Visual Effects Supervisor
 
slebed's Avatar
portfolio
Stephen Lebed
Visual Effects Supervisor
Mechnology
Glendale, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 377
Using splines and path constraints are easy to set-up, easy to manipulate, and very powerful. For instance when you have multiple spline paths and you can transition between them.
 
Old 06-25-2013, 04:41 AM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.