Digital Tutors vs 3D Buzz

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

04 April 2013
Digital Tutors vs 3D Buzz

Ultimately one day, my goal is to get into visual effects with live action. Mixed media has always been an appeal to me. ie, Treasure Planet, cartooning and 3D, or War of the Worlds, matte, 3D, and live action, among other layers. I guess my question is what are good outlets to begin practicing? I ask this in a general sense.

Now on a broader view, I also inquire about Digital Tutors vs 3D Buzz. Pros , cons, if known, I'd appreciate. I am a serious beginner, with serious lack of knowledge of 3D, the issue is I love it and I'm in school for it, so I want to walk away with some considerable skill. With the goal that I have in mind, where would you direct me?

Thanks.

04 April 2013
Seems that you already have direction set all you need now is somewhere or/and something to start with.
There is not shortcuts so the only way is to start from ground up..start with introduction courses and follow-up tutorials but try not to just blindly follow them up, experiment a bit more, take it a step further, always give yourself small challenges so that at the end of every day you can say: "I have learn something today"

I don't know about 3Dbuzz but Digital Tutors has a lot of Maya tuts for everything and are awesome! I like them a lot and learned (and still learning) from them a lot!
Sure some of those tuts there are great and some of them are not that good but overall i can't say anything against DT. Highly recommended...in my opinion.

04 April 2013
I think Digital Tutors is a better way to go, their tuts are direct and to the point, and each one has an outline so you can watch the parts you need to learn. Also, the site keeps track of what you watch and at what point you stop so you never forget where you were in any given tutorial.